Viaje Madrid…


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
January 26th 2006
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

El OsoEl OsoEl Oso

Me and Mallory in the center of Madrid, La Puerta del Sol...with one of my favorite statues.
This past weekend I visited the booming capital. On Friday I had to wake up early to catch the bus, and I didn’t even know if I was at the right bus, fortunately there are three other students that live close by and we at the bus. When the bus didn’t show up for 10 minutes we decided to call the Fundacion, and explained that the bus wasn’t there apparently it was just late and finally showed up 30 minutes late. The drive to Madrid is about an hour from Toledo, when we got there we went to the Museo de Reina Sofia, an art museum and saw Picasso’s Gueterra, the gigantic interpretation of the Spain civil war. At the same time, some kindergarteners were on a tour so I learned a little more about the painting, which included finding hidden shapes in the work. Afterwards, we ate chicken for lunch at the Museo del Jamon, which is ironic because Jamon means ham. Then we took the metro to our hostel, went shopping and had tapas (little snacks) and sangria with some friends. When we went back to our hostel my friend Mallory got her cell stolen after a fiasco in the metro, Saturday I witnessed a pickpocket firsthand, however I was afraid to say anything. Luckily, I didn’t get anything stolen and had a wonderful time altogether. Friday night we went to Kapitol, a “discoteca” with 7 FLOORS of dancing, with different types of music on each floor, we all had a great time and met some nice Spaniards, and didn’t get back til 6am or so. Saturday we slept til 1pm and then went to the Palacio Real, with its ornate decorations, especially on the ceilings, they also have a chapel and the Cathedral is right next door. On Sunday, we woke up early to attend mass there. Unfortunately, it's a huge tourist attraction and I couldn't really understand because of echoes. After mass, we decided to go to the market, there was a TON of booths, at least 4 city blocks long, but I didn't find anything and was tired so Mallory and I took the bus back, a pretty cheap ride only 4 Euros! So...classes started this week. So far I like all of them and am excited about the semester academically. With that being said, I better get to class! P.S. Thanks for posting commets...I really miss Colorado and ND and hope everyone is doing great! God bless!


Advertisement



26th January 2006

It sounds like you're having a great time and that you're settling in nicely! I love reading about your adventures so keep the journal going! Good luck with classes. Paige***
27th January 2006

Wow...
So I forget that people don't speak spanish, and everything you explained (Jamon, and tapas) I kept thinking... she had Chicken at a place with Ham in the title, Then you were kind enough to explain it for everyone. Anyhow, I'm glad you're having a great time. I'm sure it will fly by. See you something during the summer hopefully! If and when you decide to hit Barcelona, you have to fo see the fountain show! When we went they played all this American music that was 5 years old and we did interpretive dance to it. We even had some tourists record us on their camcorder and we were drenched by the end of it... just a thought, it was good times for us! - Me
29th January 2006

Miss you!
Hey Andrea! Looks like you're not getting too bored over there. :-) Glad you're having fun going out and dancing...those 'nice Spaniards' you met were female, right? ;-) hehe Miss you tons! Your pics look great too - can't wait to see more!

Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.2354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb