First Full DAY!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
January 9th 2006
Published: January 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The MetroThe MetroThe Metro

Lindsay and I heading to Sol. I'll put more pics on later. I need to run to school.
Today was awesome. Lindsay and I had a typical Spanish Breakfast (AKA. - a very small breakfast. We had cereal, but in a cup instead of a bowl. Maria took us on the bus and showed us how to use it. I met so many new people at orientation! I made some really nice friends. They served coffee during the program, the best coffee I have ever tasted in my entire life!!! Cafe con leche es perfecto. We burn our coffee in the U.S., especially Starbucks. I didn't know how coffee should tast like until I came here. We went out to this Spanish Restaurant near the school and next door to El Estadio Santiago Bernebeu, the soccer team Real Madrid's stadium. The food was great. Had paella and such. Got some stuff at the pharmacy with a few friends. They are so different. You won't find stuff like they have at CVS, like food, notebooks. They just really have medications. It was an effort to find cu-tips there! We had dinner at 9.30 with Maria. She made some mess of beans, onions, and pork. It was so good!!! Lindsay and I met up with a good amount of our friends at 11.30 at the Metro stop Sol, which is the city center. We had some bars in mind, but everything was closed! We went to an Irish pub on Calle del Principe and a cool smaller bar on Calle de Echegaray. Lindsay and I shared a cab with a friend. They are so cheap compared to the city.

Advertisement



10th January 2006

Miss you
Love reading your journals. Sounds like a wonderful experience. we love you so much
11th January 2006

Have Fun
Ola Bart, Como esta? other than addios thats all the spanish I know. ( next time go to italy!!!) glad u arrived safely, your mom gave me this address so I will be following your adventure also. Are the spots still hot? Take care I will contact you soon. We love u!!!!! the doons

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb