Leslie Bentley, my hero


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
September 21st 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have an apartment! And it´s pretty much better than anything I imagined. It´s run by two sisters from Peru, basically two of the sweetest women I´ve ever met. Carmen and María...something. Anyways, they only rent out to university students, there´s students from both mine and Laurel´s university here. The place is gorgeous. In our room alone, Laurel and I have a chandelier, a terris, and a television (not that we´d use that much in a city like this except for occasional musing at spanish telanovelas.)

There´s two good sized bathrooms, a very usable kitchen, a washer, and a beautiful living room. Super comfy. Visiting guests (listen closely now): Parents and siblings stay for FREE. Friends stay for 10 euro a night (just to take care of their own water/light etc use), which is cheaper than any hostel you will find around here, plus it comes with the two best hostesses in Madrid. It´s close to both of our schools. The neighborhood is adorable. If leave it to beaver took place downtown (and was in spanish), they would be our neighbors.

I start official classes today (my very first got cancelled hence my time to update right now) but we got an overview of everything yesterday. I´m registered for seven classes: Spanish philosophy, Spanish literature, Spanish history, Spanish history of art, Spanish geography, Commentary on Spanish text, and, of course, Spanish.
I only technically have to go to 5 classes...but I´ll probably do all of them because I can´t decide which ones not to do.

Laurel´s mom has been wonderful. She helped us find a place and took us out to dinner (and lunch and coffee and then dinner again) and with her we can pretty much go anywhere without worrying. Plus she gave money to a homeless guy right before we got the place for good karma, so we have her to thank basically for getting this apartment. So all of you back home should send the Bentley´s flowers or something if you care that I´m not going to be homeless here.


The ATM machine ate my debit card, and that´s pretty much the only bad thing that happened yesterday. Oh ps, I should be getting set up with being able to put pictures up soon, so you can all get a better idea of the best apartment EVER.

ps, my number (including international code) is 01134 645 253 509

I´ll post my new address later today when I figure out the zip code.
Tonight I sleep in my new room!
sorry for over enthusiasm,
--sacha

Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb