Random sites in Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
November 19th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is what I love about Madrid, or about just being able to studying in a foriegn city where you have to experience the culture and go out instead of do your homework.

So I relatively early this morning (11ish) and went on a run at the Retiro. I will really miss the Retiro when I leave because it really is a great park to run in and it isn't very far from my house here. Definately much better than running in L.A. . . .

Then, after looking in the museum magazing I got the other day, I found a Gustav Klimt exhibit at the Juan Marcha Foundation going on not too far from where I live, so I walked over there and got to see some of his stuff. Next, I felt like seeing some of Goya's late stuff (his dark paintings) which he actually had decorating (if you can call it that) on the walls of his home in his later years. I LOVE that series of paintings! So many horrible things were plaguing Spain at the time and he captures the period perfectly.

After the Prado I decided to go to the Casa de Encendida, another foundation, which had some cool exhibits up, one being microscopic digitally enhanced photos of bones and different animals and stuff. The pictures look like giant, amazing paintings.

Then, I met a friend for coffee at this other "cultural center" called Ladinamo because there was supposed to be some electronic music-making session there, but after we had coffee they told us the group was actually at another "cultural center", so my friend left and I went to the other place called Conde Duque solo (or sola . . . ) I am really glad I went because it ending up being fantastic. Basically different people would go up and present different projects/digitally-made music techiniques. Everything was really interesting and my favorite drum group ended the night. I made some friends that I will hopefully meet up with soon!

Then I met back up with a friend and we had pretty good sushi at this sushi bar where the sushi moves around on these belts (sushi boats?).

Needless to say, Madrid has many, many artistic outlets (you just sometimes have to look for the good ones). Can't wait to have my art space in PHX!

HAsta luego,
Stephanie



Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb