Sitges for Carnaval


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Sitges
February 15th 2008
Published: February 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry it has been so long since I have blogged, I have been a busy, busy traveler!

On February 1st my friends on my program and I took the train down to Sitges for Carnaval, which is the biggest carnaval celebration in Cataluna. It is only a half an hour train ride to Sitges, and do to some rule involving the politics of the city it's free! We arrived on Friday afternoon and checked into our hostel (which was 1 block from the beach!) and left our stuff there and went to explore the city. It was interesting when we got there, because the city felt dead! It was during siesta, so almost all of the restaurants were closed. We explored the beach for a while, which was beautiful. I cannot wait to go back when it's sunny out!

After lunch we all took a nap at our hostel, and then we went out to dinner to an English Sports Pub. It was really nice to finally eat a burger! We watched part of the Manchester United game there, and then went back to our hostel to get ready. Some of my friends got very dressed up for the event, face paint and everything! I only bought a flower and a feather to put in my hair. Despite feeling deserter earlier, Sitges was packed at night! The main street was full of people dressed up. Sitges has a very large population of gay men, which made the costumes even better (as you can see in my photo album!) We spent most of the night at the gay bar called Flower Power, which was a lot of fun. The ceiling was covered with vines and flower pillows, very cool. They played a grease montage of grease lightening, summer lovin and you're the one that i want, and everyone knew all of the words! It's very interesting that all of the songs here are American.

When we woke up the following morning we checked out of our hostel and headed back to the main street. There was a morning parade for Carnaval, which was very interesting. Overall, I had a lot of fun in Sitges, but I did get my brand new camera stolen out of my hotel room, which was a bummer! All of the pictures on my website our ones that my friends took for me!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb