Fantastic Must-Sees in Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
August 18th 2015
Published: August 18th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Spain… The country of conquistadors and corrida! The place of charming landscapes and unique architecture! You can’t even imagine how many years I have dreamt of visiting this country! I have read tons of information about it and I almost imagined my whole trip to Spain, but each time I was going to buy the tour, there was something that ruined my plans… I’m a website designer by profession and that is why the development of my website http://10websitebuilders.com/required my time, effort and … everyday presence in the office. However, I have recently managed to cope with my work and handle all my tasks and… my dream finally came true – I visited Barcelona, the capital of Spain! Let me share my impressions and ideas about this town now.

Although I have learnt much about Barcelona and was ready to see all the places of sightseeing with my own eyes, the real charm and beauty of the town took my breath away. Having visited several European towns, I can tell that the capital of Spain doesn’t look like any of them. With its unusual history and culture, the town features uniqueness and grace.

Highlights of Barcelona

I started my journey with the Gothic Quarter - the area, where the atmosphere of the medieval Barcelona is felt almost everywhere. The location is famous for its magnificent cathedral, which was built in the 13th century. This piece of architecture gives a real sense of history of the town and the whole country as well.

The next place I visited was the Olympic Port. This is a new area located around the seafront of the town. The place contrasts with the Gothic Quarter and astonishes tourists by its modern appeal. It seems impossible to believe that these two places are located in the same town – so different they are! The Olympic Port is famous due to the fact that the 1992 Olympic Games took place there. The event was highly important not only for Barcelona, but for the whole country as well. Millions of tourists came to the capital of Spain in 1992 and millions of them keep visiting the town each year.

The next destination of my travel around the capital of Spain was Montjuic, the acropolis of Barcelona. To get there, I hired a taxi that took me along the Mediterranean shore, so I had a perfect chance to enjoy the beauty of the landscape one more time. Having arrived to the place, I visited the Spanish village, or, as it is also called in Spanish - “El Poble Espanyol”. This is the concentration of buildings, which feature styles that were popular in Spain during several centuries. Another highlight of the Spanish Village is its superb craft market, where you can buy a glass of the world-famous Catalan Cava, which will help you feel the atmosphere of the town once again. I also purchased a couple of souvenirs for my family and friends at the craft market – so lucky I was!

The final point of my travel around Barcelona was the Teleferic de Montjuic that made it possible for me to get back to the town in a real cable car. I looked at the magnificent views of Barcelona and now I can tell that this town offers the incredible variety of places that will make each trip one-of-a-kind!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb