Back for more punishment - Mm11


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
September 17th 2011
Published: October 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Bus to the startBus to the startBus to the start

Charging up!
The day before:
How quickly I forget - length, difficulty, the pain. Here I was again, on the way to airport for Mm11! Matagalls Montserrat, a 52-mile route from Coll Formic on Montseny mountain outside of Barcelona to the monastery of Montserrat. Cumulative incline, ~20,000ft. Last year was my first attempt. Finished at 17hrs with the last 5hrs of pure pain. This year's goal - to finish without 5hrs of that pain.

When Raúl told me that the registration opened, I had no hesitation - sign me up please!!! This year, the rule changed from first-come first-serve to giving priority to those who have completed before. I was so glad I did it last year. Raúl and I were two of 1800 ppl who pre-registered. 1200 spots were open for lottery. Of >2200 ppl who entered, Bertrand was one of many lucky ones who made it, awesome!!

Luckily or unluckily, I had other things consuming me leading up to the trip and didn't feel the nervousness...until now!!! Wow when it hit, it hit hard, a freak-out! Anyhow, the plane took off from SFO to FRA. I knew that I had to sleep as much as I could so took a bite of mezcline and the rest was history.

Boy that pill was potent. I woke up and I was in Barcelona airport still wanting to sleep. The way around Bcn is easy by now. At 8:30pm on Friday, I was in Born to meet Bertrand - it's been >1yr!! The flat was right next to Sta Maria del Mar. We walked around and picked this charming eatery. Buildings here are old with stone walls, thick wooden door and iron helical stairs. Carb loading of endless bread and jamón ibérico, a must, mmm. Slept more to charge up!

To km 0:
Lots to do before 1pm bus to Matagalls. First, breakfast at a bakery cafe adjacent to the flat. Cafe con leche, esp the leche wakes my tongue up that I'm not in the US. Ensaimada filled me up. A quick grocery and wi-fi chore left little time to gear up for the race. We made it right on time at 1pm at Joanic metro station. Shortly after, arrived Raúl whom I hadn't seen since Mm10!!

A 1.5hr bus ride took us to Coll Formic 1125 m high on Montseny mountain. 1hr til start! A few logistics, fuel-up, people stating to pile up and the moment of truth was fast approaching. 4pm - go! ...although the moment didn't hit me hard because, from last year, I knew that it's what happens at hr 12 that matter, not now 😄.

Km 0 - 45: So far so good
It was hot and somewhat humid, contrary to the mist and drizzle of last year. Bertrand was long gone. Me, no need to hurry now, we have all night to run. Places looked familiar, except with a blue sky. Can't make much of the first few hours. Still fresh and you should be! At hr 2, we were at the first food stop of km 16.6. As before, not hungry yet but aquarius orange? Por supuesto :p. Yay, the first woman to arrive there - a brief moment of glory!! The food station was strategically placed as the next 6km was a climb to the nice view. This I remembered, although not exactly as this steep and long. My thighs starting to feel it already, no! Way too early for that!! But what do you do - continue, that's the only option. What goes up will come down!! Seguimos.

At 8pm, Control 3. Oof, 28 km in 4hrs, not bad. Lemon wedges went really well by then since I was sweating a lot in this weather. 3km and 30min later, the next food stop. By this time, I was ready to *eat* 😄. Tortillaaa! Nnnice! Water top-off although I still had half. Raúl and I were going the good pace. Still good to go. 10min break was all we needed. But be careful. Next 5km will be another climb. It took ~1hr and we were on 9km descent to St Llorenc Savall at km 45. This is a major pit stop and a bit more than half way.

Descent but still, 9km took until 10:45p. We were still able to jog downhill and flats at this point. My legs were feeling fatigue that I didn't think I had last year though :S. Kinda worrisome but hey, not letting that get to me right now. Finaly!!! Happy to see the supporters and the food tents 😊. This is a good time to recover - at km 45, 7hrs into it, and marks the beginning of the real thing! I was pretty hungry here and needed to stretch good.

Km 45 - 83: Cómo cambiara todo!!!
After 30min rest, walking sticks were out and the part deux started! It only gets rougher and meaner from here. I thought I remembered, NOT!!! I must have a selective memory to forget the ugly. Everything was my recollection intensified by 10! The worst part was that the terrain got rough with stones, rocks, roots, big height gaps, you name it. They quickly kill your joints and feet. Up up up, shut up and climb. Heels weren't even touching the ground X(. At least there was no single file of last year that gave me pressure. I also knew not to push it here. I could push all I want at the finale. That was the unfortunate of last year. I died here and left nothing but pain for the last and the meanest climb. That costed me a lot of time. Also, I was alone during the jungle descent in the darkness. This time, I was going the good pace w Raúl all along and definitely kept me mentally tranquil. Marks were sometimes hidden and hard to see in the dark, and going alone took extra attention and nerve. Also this year, I noticed at various spots where we were directed to make the turn - soooo helpful!!

7km of rolling + 5km of steep climb was rough. I was happy to see Control 6 and the sign saying 1.4km to the next food stop. I was hungry again, already! 1.4km took forever though. The main event was donuts there so gobbled down lots of choco cookies, no probs. At this point, it was becoming more of shut-up-and-walk mode through some paved streets. Some people were still jogging but at this point, that was out of question for me. Walking fast was the most my legs were going to lift up to.

Here, my memory from last year ceased. I seem to have no recollection of this rocky rough terrain until the final ascent to Montserrat. It went pretty long and rough, pounding hard on my thighs and knees. My lamp was gone at the last stop. The backup lamp was even starting to die around here...wtf. My thighs were really tight. Little stretching wasn't doing anything at that point. Really worried for the last ascent. It's going to be rough to say the least.

After more rocky road, we came to the crossroad. Across the street, the way to Montserrat monastery began. From there, no turning back, no break. 5km of almost straight climb up the face of the mountain to the monastery. Can I make it? Let's do this, c'mooon!!! Suddenly, my legs started to move smoothly and noticed thigh pain gone...what?! Last year, I was feeling every single step I took. This time, I was climbing with good form and strength - wtf?!?! How?!?! A looong climb of rocky path finally ended and when I reached the paved steps, I knew it was close! Q_Q. Was this part this short?? I was running up that steps. Bystanders were cheering and surprised to see una chica :D. I wonder how many gals have passed so far :p. I was just too excited to be so close to the goal. Go go go, up the last stairs to the red carpet!!! 7:27! 15.5hrs total, 1.5hrs faster than last year, *o m g* Q_Q.

Aftermath:
I guess I would've ran the end last year too but I was barely lifting my legs. Running was out of question. To say the least, I was in much much better shape. I paced better and less alone time, esp during the rough parts. Thank you, Raúl, I would have died without you!! Raúl finished with me and Bertrand el campeón o monstruo, finished in 12hrs!!! It was foggy and just about dawn at 7:30am at Montserrat and a bit chilly. After a short rest, we left the plaza to meet Raúl's parents. They kindly took us back to the city - rescued us big time. My god, can't imagine walking more. I guess the train doesn't start until 9am and some people descended down by foot already. I would've waited how many ever hours, you crazies!! By 10, we were back at the apartment. I had dirt caked on my legs and dry sweat stuck elsewhere else, yee. I didn't think I was so tired until I came out of the shower. I unconsciously passed out for a good 2hrs.

It was surreal to wake up at 10am. It's like last night didn't happen except my legs were so so so tight especially after sitting. 5th floor apartment without elevator was rough. Somehow, Bertrand and I were out from 1p to 10p, going from cafe to exhibition to outdoor concert! Bocadillo and cafe con leche were much awaited!


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

At the beginningAt the beginning
At the beginning

Wide and smooth road - to be missed shortly
First food stopFirst food stop
First food stop

2sec of glory - first woman :p


Tot: 0.417s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb