roman ruins in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona » Barcelona
May 31st 2019
Published: May 31st 2019
Edit Blog Post

Individual:

I was very excited to hear about the history behind Spain, since I did not know a lot about Spain going into this trip. After all of the tours I was overwhelmed by the amount of information that we gathered about the history of Spain. I did not realize how much of Spanish history was mixed with Roman history, and it was really cool to see ruins from such a long time ago. I usually struggle to enjoy learning about history, but these tours were incredibly fascinating, and I was really glad I was able to see so many things from such a long time ago.

Relational:

One of my favorite things about exploring all of the ruins were the tour guides. Interacting with them was really great, and I felt like I learned more about Spanish culture from them because we were with them for an extended period of time. Both of the tour guides were incredibly nice, and I really enjoyed hearing their take on Spanish history. One thing I thought was really interesting was the difference between the tour guide in Barcelona and the one in Tarragona. Our guide in Barcelona was more introverted and was very factual with all the information he shared with us. However, the tour guide in Tarragona was much more relaxed and made more casual comments about the history. He also said that he wouldn’t want to live in Barcelona because it was too busy. Although these two cities are only a few hours away from each other, it was interesting to see the different cultures in the two areas of Southern Spain.

Social:

One of the things that I had to adjust to while visiting Tarragona was the beach culture. I am a typically conservative person, so I had to get used to the European ways. I think that it’s really interesting how confident people are in this country, which I appreciate, but it was something that I had to get used to. Overall, it was really cool to see how the cultures changed throughout Barcelona, and I really enjoyed travelling throughout the Southern region.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb