On the road again Can't wait to get on the road again


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León
June 21st 2014
Published: June 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

June 21st - Leon to Astorga and walk to Santa Catalina



I force myself out of bed and head down for a buffet breakfast in the hostel. I call a cab and head down to the bus station - only a 20 minute walk but I want to save my feet for the Camino.



The bus ride is only about an hour.



I get to Astorga and I am off. It feels great to be back on the trail again. Within the first 5km I meet Dennis and Shirley from Vancouver. We walk and talk together for awhile and then they forge ahead - I indicate I will be staying in Santa Catalina when I get there they are waiting and we get a bunk room together - also meet Bernd from Germany - he and his wife were in the same Hostel as Tanya and I in Logrono. His wife had to head back to work - he is forging ahead alone. He is also in our bunk room. We have a great pilgrim's dinner together - fresh salad, pork stew with onions and carrots and fries and a plain yogurt for desert - all washed down with a nice local red wine.



I did a quick wash and got caught up on my blogs.



Feels great to be back walking the Camino - can't wait until tomorrow.





Piss off of the day - trying to buy bus tickets at the bus station at a Spanish kiosk - a kind bus driver helped me out.



Tip of the day - baby steps, baby steps



Blessing of the day - the Camino itself - never the same / always the same



Funny event of the day - I recounted in an earlier blog about the French pilgrim with his doudou - whilst having a beer here in Santa Catalina I saw the same man come into town - he was averaging 30- 40 km / day - I thought I would never see him again - He remembered the cherries - we chatted a bit - as he left I got his and his doudou's picture - I hope they both make it safely to Santiago - the doudou is showing the strain.

Advertisement



23rd June 2014

Keep on truckin'....
Hey Keith - I continue to very much enjoy your blogs. Especially your candor, it providrs relief (vs concern) in knowing you are carefully making the right decisions for you and your adversaries "the twins" (feet ;). Keep up the efforts with the "selfies" - they are an interesting (hilarious actually) part of your journey and let us know that you are still smiling ;) Truly an amazing experience that you have undertaken and an inspiration of determination. Whatever decision you make concerning "all or plan b" is part of the journey! "Don't stop believing ...". Angie xo

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb