San Mary Eunarte


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Villafuerte
September 2nd 2012
Published: September 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hola,



I am still without the ability to upload a photo so at some point that will change.

It was an incredible joy to experience the Eglise at Eunarte yesterday afternoon and overnight. The hosts made every effort to make the stay a incredible expereince. This included a late night vigil in the eglise where we all prayed the same prayer for our repsective and mutal Camino in our own language. Some of us sang and played music in the ancient church which is said to be built by the Knights Templar and protectors of the pilgrims.

I have much respect for the way the many people approach their faith on the Camino. It is never assumed that one has the same outlook.

Today was a long day on the road in heat. I am thankful for my clothing and especially my Frillneck hat which has so much shade and cooling. I spent a pleasant hour in a bar talking Rainer from Germany who like many has a profound sadness and loss in his life but is able to share in the experience of others.

Tonight was a fantastic meal in the auberge at Villapuerte with wine and later a stroll to the local bar to try for internet on my phone with no luck. I also had my first chat with a fellow Aussie from Melbourne. It is so nice to not have to think of the words in French or Spanish.

My thanks to the Gods for thus far protecting me against turning an ankle and so far no blisters. I am so grateful to have good feet and good shoes.

One week has passed on the Camino and today was special to talk to and see my family in Hobart via Skype for father´s day.

I hope the at all my friends and family at home are in health!

Hasta Luego,

Scott

Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb