Weekend Update


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia
July 21st 2008
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Buenos Dias,
In two more weeks I will be home. This trip has flown and I feel like I have learned so much about a multitude of things. But I can’t wait to get home and see everyone. This past Friday we went on a group excursion to a huge castle which was in a suburb of Madrid. It had the most amazing murals I have ever seen. There was a hallway where the entire thing from wall to ceiling was a mural. It took my breath away. Of course we weren’t able to take pictures. There was another hallway which looked like a tunnel which was made completely out of marble and led down to the crypt of most of the dead kings and queens of Spain. From there we headed to the tomb of Francisco Franco, he was the dictator that ruled Spain around the time of World War 2. Everybody in Spain basically hates him. What he did was create this huge church from in the inside of a mountain. It was soo morbid in there. The enormous cross you see in the picture sits on the top of the church, and on the inside is his grave and another guy too. I couldn’t believe there were flowers on his grave either. Then on Saturday some girls and I went shopping and to my friends Sara’s house on her patio in the afternoon. Saturday night was a festival which was sord of dumb. Sunday was another relaxing day and to church in the p.m. Hope you all had a nice weekend and are enjoying Michigan summers. I sure do miss bbqs, bonfires, pools, smores, and PIZZA! Thank you for your comments, I enjoy them alot.
Love you and Miss you,
Nicole




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb