After the rain comes the sun!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

AquaductAquaductAquaduct

The aquaduct at night
Monday night was supposed to be the start of la fiesta de San Juan with bands and fireworks, but it started to POUR!!! I can not explain to you how crazy town was. Everyone was scattering and running as if they'd die. It was definatly an experience. I ran 15 minutes home in the pouring rain. Everything I was wearing was soaked: hoodie, tshirt, bra, capri's, underwear, purse. I had to wring my clothes out. My mom was having a party for the fireworks since we get a really good view of the aquaduct from the house, so I ran into the house soaking and everyone in the basement was staring at me laughing. They were all dry, and I was just soaked. Ah what a moment. I got home around 11:30 pm and my mom ordered pizza for dinner at 12:30 am. Dinner at 12:30! Her parents were there, her kids friends were there and it was just a normal thing for everyone, old and young, to eat at 12:30 at night.

Tuesday morning I slept in then around 12:30, my mom asked if I wanted to go on a walk with her and the dog, Nelly (not Meli
El AlcazarEl AlcazarEl Alcazar

The Alcazar. Walt Disney supposedly modeled Cinderella's castle after this. We passed it on our walk.
like I thought). About 3 hours later, we returned having gone all over. She showed me all kinds of historical things, churches and monuments. She asked if I studied a guy named San Juan de la Cruz (literature guy) and I said yes, so she showed me where he studied. I'll post the picture. We past very scenic views, and my mom kept taking my camera and saying "Let me take pictures of you for your Mom! She'd love it!" And they did turn out very pretty. I told all my friends I had to take them up there.

In the evening was more celebrations for la fiesta de San Juan. It was a fun evening.

We took a placement test for my grammar class to see what level we'd be in, and I am in the advance class! I passed with flying colors! About 20 kids were in the intermediate, and about 15 for the advance. I am so happy that I'm all situated in the right classes getting the right credits.

I hope Michigan is treating everyone well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Sanctuary on the hillSanctuary on the hill
Sanctuary on the hill

That little white building is the sanctuary. It was quite a hike. Thank goodness it was before siesta!
SanctuarySanctuary
Sanctuary

Tiny sanctuary (only for one person) that San Juan de la Cruz went to frequently.


27th June 2008

more pix plz ^_^
30th June 2008

agree. more pix -- Robert
pix!
1st July 2008

too cool
What an adventure, I'm so happy for you. I didn't know those bulls were killed either. Seems pretty cruel, do they have a huge supply of bulls there then?! Sounds like you'll be able to do a buns of steel video with all that walking. Thanks for the great info.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb