Tuesday June 24th 2008


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola,
Hope you are enjoying this blog as much as I am in writing it. Right now we are getting ready to go out for the fiesta. The fireworks don’t start until midnight!! I just can’t get used to this. My roommate wants to stay but I’m sure I’ll be exhausted. So here is a little about the food and stuff. My host mom cooks very well, I have had a shrimp/ham/peas and rice type of stir fry which was very good. I’ve had chicken, and also some short baby ribs today without the bbq sauce of course. I think tonight I had some type of egg tostada thing with sausage in it. She makes some great green beans thing. Overall I’m eating less than I did in the states. The diet is just so much more healthy than the U.S. There is some great gelato here though, but the portions are so much smaller than ours. The chocolate that I have had is much better than the U.S. My host mom and I get along really well. If I don’t understand she will try and repeat it another way. She shares humor in the same things that I do, she also understands me more than my roommate I think. She has a very nice apartment which is clean. It has a small kitchen, salon which is like a living room and 3 bathrooms and 4 bedrooms. As I said before Liz and I both have our own bedroom which is working out very well. Today Mom was able to call me from my cell using the calling card so I’m excited we have finally figured that part out. I don’t mean to complain but I have done more walking here than I think like ever. I hope I get used to it because my calves sure aren’t right now. Spain is 6 hours ahead of the U.S. So after class is when I do my emails it is 7 am your time and 1 pm my time. That means anything you send I don’t get until the next day unless I go back to school at night. Just FYI. I love all your comments keep them coming.

exhausted,
Nicole

Part 2. Well so much for the fiesta, I knew I had felt a raindrop and I said come on let’s make our way towards the street and Liz said no it will be fine. Well sure enough it started down pouring and the whole town of Segovia is running to get under the store awnings in the street. We all had nice clothes on and we were just drenched. It was so ridiculous. All these old ladies were pushing us up the street to get on the main path. Of course I didn’t have my umbrella (liz did though). What was interesting though was that for the strollers (the babies don’t sleep here either and are some of the cutest I have ever seen btw) there are these rain covers that zip around the stroller, the strollers here are very innovative. We came in the door and my host mom said pobre hijas, “poor dears.” What a mess.

Drenched,
Nicole




Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0763s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb