italia vs. espana


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia
June 23rd 2008
Published: June 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola,
Last night was the big Italy vs. Spain soccer/futbol game. But before that we walked really far to a place where local Segovia players play, that was fun too. People are so into soccer here. I got your post Uncle Steve and Uncle Len. I couldn’t believe Italy did as poorly as they did, I like their goalie though. It was soo cool because they set up a big screen in the plaza mayor where all the people go to watch the game outside. Everyone was dressed in yellow and red and were chanting and stuff. They sure know how to live life here, I don’t think they ever stop drinking and smoking. But it was fun. They went crazy in the overtime when they got those 3 goals. On our way home everyone was honking their horns and chanting in the street. This place is really the city that never sleeps. Even my host mom who is 57 stays up until 1am. I’m still trying to get used to the schedule here (see previous posts) today I will have lunch at 2:30. Today we also started school and I could understand everything the prof. said, so that was good. Tonight is the big fiesta de Saint ?? which marks the first day of summer. There are fireworks and music etc. Of course it starts at 8pm and goes to who knows when. Tomorrow there is no school or work. Solamente fiesta! Thanks for all your posts keep them coming! Love you all and miss you all. My next blog will be about my host mom, the food, the apartment and stuff.
Btw another gorgeous day outside today.
Te amo,
Nicole


Advertisement



23rd June 2008

Hola! Sounds like everything is going really well in Spain. I'm so glad you are having a good time. Enjoy each moment because I am sure the 6 weeks will go very fast. Take lots of pictures of the big de Saint day..and tell us all about it. I'm sure you'll have a great time!
23rd June 2008

futbol game
Hola Cole, for the first time ever I found myself rooting for Italy to lose just so you could expericence the craziness that i imagine was happening in Spain. I would of loved to be there for that. I was afraid if they lost things might get alittle crazy. They are now in the semi-finals which I think is this Thursday (in USA) and I believe they play Russia. If they win that game the finals would be Sunday against the winner of the Germany/Turkey game. I hope they win it all the country will go crazy and problably close down for a few days to party. I know I told you before but be careful, make sure you don't find yourself out alone. As beautiful as it is there it is still a foreign country and you are an American who some people might think means your rich or something. That being said, have the time of your life, try as much different stuff as you can (food, drink culture, love) you will probably never get this experience again. Talk to you soon Miss you! Te amo Uncle Len
25th June 2008

Hola
Thanks for the well wishes. They are nuts about soccer here. You would love it! Say hi to the girls for me. Grandma and Papa too. Miss you and love you. Nicole

Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1092s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb