So I´m In Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Segovia
September 9th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

¡Hola from España!

How is everyone?? I thought I’d put together a list of friends and family and email you all what I’ve been up to. I plan to send them out now and then, you can read them if you’d like, forward them or do whatever. ‘no me importa!’ meaning, it doesn’t matter to me. :D

My first week in Spain has been wonderful! I live in an apartment with a host family. I have a mother and a brother my age, but he will be going back to college in Salamanca, about 1 hour from here in Segovia. My home is very spacious and has many antique pieces that are fun to take time to look at when I relax. There is a balcony on the upstairs floor which looks over the west side of the city, and the view is gorgeous. Segovia is a small town that is full of ancient Roman architecture which many tourists come to visit on the weekends. One famous and beautiful piece f the city is the aqueduct (see pictures) It kicks my but when I have to take the stairs along side of it to walk to class. Ufta.

The little shops which line the streets ‘tiendas’ are filled with post cards and little treasures but the clothing is beautiful here. If I ever become rich, I’m SOO shopping for clothing and shoes here!

A typical day for me is 1 or 2 classes in the afternoon and spending time at little cafes to study or share a pitcher of sangria with friends. Tomorrow I’ll start working at an advertising company tomorrow for class credit towards my communications major. And soon I’ll start some Salsa lessons. Woot woot!! Meals are at 9am breakfast, 2pm lunch, 7pm tapas (optional go out to snack time), and 10pm dinner. It’s pretty hard for me to hold off sometimes between the larger meals, but thank God ice cream is popular here!

Night life is ridiculous on the weekends. Places don’t start getting busy until 12:30-1:00 am and the night doesn’t end until 6am! It’s a lot of fun but completely exhausting. There are tons of bars and cafes in this little town, I can’t imagine what the larger cities are like. I’m defiantly investing in napping in the afternoons before I go out.

I’m still working out an efficient and economic way to chat via phone, but you all have my e-mail. I can’t think of anything else right now, but if you have any questions please write me. I love receiving mail because I miss you all so much. Thank you to everyone who was able to come visit me before I hopped on the plane. I know a lot of you weren’t able to meet up to say goodbye, but I miss you just as much! Please take care and keep in touch.

· ,
· Peace
, ', _ Love
· ' __ Happiness
,
· ', / - luv breez

_’ /
__-_/


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb