Good-bye, Salamanca!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
July 16th 2011
Published: September 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

1. The Best People You Will Ever Meet1. The Best People You Will Ever Meet1. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

Two 15 or 16-year-old Serbian girls that were in my class for about a week. Hate that I can't remember their names. :/
September 25, 2011: Okay, I'm not very good at travel blogs. I wonder how people do it. At first, it's nice and then, it kinda becomes a hassle. It's unfortunate that I've probably forgotten so many things since I took these photos, but I guess you could say that this means the really good stuff stuck.


Anyway, these were taken during my last full day in Salamanca; only days after I'd returned from Vila-real. We had class as normal, went to break at a local bar, and finished up the school day. Later that afternoon, we decided to go to the river and rent those little paddle boats. It was fun for the first 5 minutes then, it was just torture! Oof!

It was a nice day, though. I just hate that the river was so dirty and gross. I can't imagine what the Spaniards watching us were thinking as they crossed the bridges. There were seven of us so, we rented two boats and people kept switching from one to the other. As We Were In The Water. haha. God help us, if one of them had fallen in. I can't even imagine what kind of disgusting
2. Trying to be artsy2. Trying to be artsy2. Trying to be artsy

At the bar we went to everyday during break time (for coffee, not "drinks").
mess was in that river!

After our venture out onto the high seas, we walked back to the city center and stopped for a cup of coffee. I had a small tapa and we just chatted about whatever, though everyone looked tired and ready for a nap. We didn't stay long because most of the others lived with a family and had to meet with them for dinner.

It didn't even occur to me that it was my last day until we started saying out goodbyes. I felt myself tearing up, but managed not to cry. I didn't really see these people much outside of school, but after seeing them everyday for three weeks, it just felt so wrong to say goodbye for forever. I guess that's the kicker. You know that you'll probably never see them again. :/

At least, I got a photo of these guys, though. In all my running around Salamanca with my crazy French roommates, I somehow neglected to take a photo of or with them. That's one of my big regrets. I had a lot of good times with them and just never thought to take photos. There were so many
3. The Best People You Will Ever Meet3. The Best People You Will Ever Meet3. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

Top: Alicia (Taiwan) L-to-R: Mirjam (Hungary), Me, & Min (Korea)
good chances, too! They were something else.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

4. The Best People You Will Ever Meet4. The Best People You Will Ever Meet
4. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

L-to-R: Alicia (Taiwan), Serbian girls, Mirjam (Hungary), Me, & Min (Korea).
5. The Best People You Will Ever Meet5. The Best People You Will Ever Meet
5. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

L-to-R: Alicia (Taiwan), Serbian girls, Mirjam (Hungary), Me, & Min (Korea).
6. The Best People You Will Ever Meet6. The Best People You Will Ever Meet
6. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

L-to-R: Alicia (Taiwan), Serbian girls, Me, & Min (Korea).
7. The Best People You Will Ever Meet7. The Best People You Will Ever Meet
7. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

Me & Fernando/Tom (South Korea)
8. The Best People You Will Ever Meet8. The Best People You Will Ever Meet
8. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

Me & Nuria, one of the professors at Berceo
9. The Best People You Will Ever Meet9. The Best People You Will Ever Meet
9. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

Me & Nuria, one of the professors at Berceo
15. The Best People You Will Ever Meet15. The Best People You Will Ever Meet
15. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

Me, Mirjam (Hungary), & Fernando/Tom (South Korea)
17. The Best People You Will Ever Meet17. The Best People You Will Ever Meet
17. The Best People You Will Ever Meet

L-to-R: Fernando/Tom (S. Korea), Me, Min (Korea), Serbian girl, Mirjam (Hungary), Serbian girl, & Alicia (Taiwan).


Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb