Settling in and such...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
January 21st 2011
Published: January 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

1/18

Took care of some laundry business today. Allegedly, we can wash our own clothes using the washing machines in the residency on the weekends, but of course, I didn’t find this out until Monday afternoon, meaning I have to wait a whole week more for clean clothes. As I was already running low on underpants, though not quite to the point of turning them inside out, I went in search of a laundromat. I found one where, for 7.50 euros, you can drop off a load and they will wash it, dry it, and have it ready for you the next day.
Feeling independent on the walk home, I stopped into a Papeleria and picked up a much needed folder for class, some postcards to send home, and, wait for it....a Spanish copy of the first Harry Potter- Harry Potter y la piedra filosofal. :D
So I pretty much have everything I need right now- folders, laundry, snacks I bought at the grocery store to hold me over until our late night dinners, and a box of cereal that I now sneak into the cafeteria every morning (I would eat it in my room, but we don’t have fridges, so no milk, so I bring my box and use their milk). What? I like cereal okay? And toast for breakfast for the next five months is soo not happening.



1/19

Tenemos examenes hoy. Translation: we had exams today. The Spanish grading system is on a scale of 1-10, a 5 being a C, and a 10 being an A. Basically the grades from all four orientation courses will be combined into one final grade for Advanced Spanish (3 credits). And, not that I needed to study very hard, (I’m only taking classes pass/fail and they don’t affect my GPA) buuuttt I’m pretty sure I aced them. Old habits die hard I guess... :P

I think part of the reason though is that on test I can see and write down my thoughts. Usually, I can understand almost everything the professor is saying, but when it comes answering questions verbally, I get completely tongue-tied! It’s so frustrating not being able to spit out the words! I suppose that only comes with more practice...

After class, my friend Emily and I went for a run around the perimeter of the city. There’s a really nice green path/track that wraps all the way around Salamanca- it goes over bridges and follows the Rio Tormes (Tormes River) and it is gorgeous! We were even feeling ambitious and did abs and pushups after. As I have yet to find a gym or even convince myself to pay the exorbitant monthly fees, (oh how I miss the magnificence that is the USC Strom Thurmond Wellness and Fitness Center) I’m trying my best to stay in shape. Especially with all the food I’m eating! Freshman 15? How about the Spain 25?

Later, Emily and I met up in the Plaza Mayor to do a little shopping. We strolled up Calle Toro, where all the good stores are, and walked among the throngs of people searching for the best rebajas (Spanish word for sales. During January and February, EVERYTHING is on sale. We’re talking 50-70% off. It would be wrong not to go shopping!). After some successful purchases, we got ice cream and sat in the Plaza. I couldn’t say anything except “this is the life.” Feeling comfortable and relaxed, soaking up the atmosphere in a beautiful city far away from home. I could get used to this.



1/21

Today was the last day of orientation classes! It was actually a pointless day as we had already received our final grades, but I went to all (but one) of them.

Tomorrow we leave for Sevilla, Granada and Cordoba!! We have to drive (eh, used to it, more time to read), and we’re looping around and coming back up through Madrid. From Madrid, a handful of us are catching a plane to Lisbon, Portugal!!! I booked my flight and hostel last night. I’m excited, but also nervous, as this will be completely independent travel, and my first time staying in a hostel. But as it will only be me, Katie, and Marisa staying in the same hostel, I’m confident we can put our heads together to figure stuff out and also have a good time doing it. After two nights and three days in Lisbon, the plan is to hop on a bus and go to Coimbra, which I’m told is the Salamanca of Portugal and very beautiful. After one night there, it’s back on a bus and back to old USAL on Saturday morning. Then the semester starts on Monday! I’m not bringing my computer with me, but not to worry, I will have an old fashion pen and paper journal, and three different cameras to capture the experience. Boa noite! (that’s portuguese for good night!)



Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb