Ferias Begin!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
September 8th 2008
Published: September 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Jethro wamring upJethro wamring upJethro wamring up

I was having a cafe con leche while Jetrho warmed up that afternoon
Yesterday I attended mass at the Catedral Viejo - they sang in Latin and spoke in Spanish so I didn't get too much out of it, but it was basically the same as the English mass except with a lot more incense and 3 priests. The good thing about it was it only lasted 40 mintues since not very many people were there.
After mass, I walked 30 minutes to the edge of the city to the Rastro (similar to a gigantic flea market, except with new items instead of used stuff). It was a fun atmosphere with lots of haggling and vendors shouting and people eating, talking and buying. I bought a purse for my laptop for 3euro, no haggling though they spoke way to fast! I also bought a pair of shoes for 5e and a book for 1e.
I went back and changed, ate and went to the plaza with the API group for icecream and to see Jethro Tull warm up. The group wanted to go home and change but I wasn't ready so I left to wander the old towne on my own. I stumbled upon a huge crown gathered around the cathedral and stopped to
Cathedral during the paradeCathedral during the paradeCathedral during the parade

You can just see the arbor of flowers in front of the cathedral vieja.
check it out. It turned out to be a parade to honor "La virgen Maria de la Vega" the patroness of Salamanca. The women wore traditional gowns and carried flowers which were placed on an arbor while the men played traditional folk songs. Then the bishop (I think) said some prayers and the mayor said "viva salamanca!" and everyone in the crowd shouted "Viva!" including me! It was a very enjoyable afternoon that lasted until 9:30.
After that I walked down to the river where the fuegos artificiales (fireworks) began - some of the best I've ever seen! I was almost right underneath them so it sounded like a warzone but it looked spectacular! I didn't know how many people lived in Salamanca until I looked behind me and saw that the entire road was filled with people!
When the fireworks ended, Jethro Tull started up. He's still pretty good on the flute, harmonica and guitar but we could have done without the singing. He danced around the stage, played, sang and told jokes (although in English!). I stayed with a friend for the entire concert and we ate tapas from the caseta! I had a tomato and serrano ham
processionprocessionprocession

closer picture of empty arbor
sandwich and then grilled marinated pork kabob - both were excellent and only cost 1.80e.
It was a great night and I can't wait for the rest of the Ferias!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

FireworksFireworks
Fireworks

This picture doesn't do it justice, they were better than this
War ZoneWar Zone
War Zone

This was part of the finale, it kind of just looks like a war zone in the picture and it was so loud the ground was shaking!
JethroJethro
Jethro

I took lots of videos too, you'd think I was a die-hard Jethro Tull Fan.
Concert in the PlazaConcert in the Plaza
Concert in the Plaza

The stage was set up in the Plaza and the whole place was filled with people - I was up front for most of it but I moved to the back for a break!


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb