Hi everybody


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
October 11th 2007
Published: October 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone Sorry I havent written on this yet I can´t download any photos since my laptop is busted and what I can do on the computers in the lab is very limited so you´ll just have to deal. So life in Spain is very different as you can imagine. My homestay mom Wanni is very sweet and soft spoken which I guess is a rarity in Spain, most women talk in a loud voice which makes it seem like they are yelling at you. Almost everyone lives in an apartment with kitchens about the size of an American bathroom, no wonder we´re not really allowed to use them, there´s no room. Our apartment is very long and narrow, our room is at the end away from Wanni and her son Daniel´s living quarters. We have 1 and a half baths the half bath consists of a very very small shower/tub a toilet and a very small washer. Most homes actually I think probably all of them don´t have driers electricity here is about 4x that in the U.S. So if you´re ever in a public toilet don´t be surprised if the lights go off, there all on timers. The food is interesting the tapas isn´t quite like it is in say Downtown Mt. View so i guess that means Cascal isn´t real tapas 😞. Most of it has probably been sitting out for a while, my first day in Madrid I received a cold plate of calamari no me gusta. But other than that its pretty edible and my homestay mom makes really yummy food. Which I get 3x a day (hint hint) Lunch being the biggest meal you can imagine why siesta is necessary, but they´re so hard to wake up from. Alright well back to my studies I´ll try and write as often as possible. This weekend is a national holiday so I will be without internet until monday which will be sooner than you think since we´re 9 hours ahead.
Hasta luego
Love you all
Love Michelle

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb