Leon


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » León
September 17th 2012
Published: September 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Pilgrim statue in BurgosPilgrim statue in BurgosPilgrim statue in Burgos

These types of statues more common in the larger towns.
Hola!



Have arrived into another largish town, Leon with a magnificent collection of architecture. I just realised that I have been very lucky to find the only hostelling international accomodation anywhere so far on the trip and it´s very close to the centre of the old town. I have my own bathrom! Unfortunately I think I have sent my hostelling card ahead of me or perhaps it is gone astray as quite a few items have. The general experience among pilgrims seems to be a level of fatigue where absent mindedness accounts for those things going missing that the fathers had put there only the night before! (Monty Python rules)

I met a scots woman Muriel and her husband Chris few nights ago and made them coffee on the road yesterday early morning which according Muriel makes me more interesting than any of the cathedrals she has so far visited!

There are around 315km to go to Santiago De Compostella at this stage and this is give or take about 13 days which puts me there at month end on a Sunday which could be cool for the cathedral as I am really hoping to see the famous incence fumera swung there.

Numbers of pilgrims and pseudo pilgrims are still growing as I go along so it will be interesting to see how scarce accomodation becomes. The daily total for today arriving at Santiago is only 334 which is surprising me.

The pilgrims on foot have varying views about those on bike which are largely loud Italians as to whether they are really pilgrims, I think perhaps not as the motivation seems to have little in it other than sport.

Hasta Luego,

Scott

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb