1 more day here!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ávila
May 11th 2006
Published: May 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

StudentsStudentsStudents

Me with one of my favorite classes!
* * * http://community.webshots.com/album/549858979RyYQAo * * * (I added pics from this week at school and my adorable kids!😊 )

Hey yall! I can't believe that I'm about to leave Avila. When I think back, it seems like its gone soooo fast, 2 months, but it also seems like I started here such a long time ago. I'm definitely ready to be done with teaching, even though I'm really going to miss some of the kids. It's just time to move on again with life, you know? I'm really excited for what I have coming up over the next month. I'm leaving for Madrid tomorrow with Rachel, then its off to Granada (ahh, I'm sooo excited for this), Cordoba, and Marbella (a beautiful beach place). THEN Matt, his sister Beth are coming and we'll all be traveling around Spain along with Ryan, one of Matt's friends. I think that this will probably be the funnest week of traveling! I'm really excited about this! Last, but not least, I'm off to Budapest to visit Jodi and her family! As long as I can get on the train tomorrow with all of my stuff, I will be fine. I have quite a
StudentsStudentsStudents

Waiting to go inside the theatre.
lot...a big suitcase that is HEAVY, a traveling backpack, a lap top case, and a black duffel bag. Oh, goodness. People are going to hate me getting on with all my stuff and I'm going to get lots of stares, but oh well, I'll never see these people again! I'm keeping my stuff at a friend's apartment who lives in Madrid while I travel for 3 weeks-HUGE help! So I'll just be traveling around with a backpack. Isn't that impressive that I have packed for 3 weeks in one backpack? I'm pretty impressed with myself and there's still room to spare in it! 😊

My kids this week have been sooo great! They've made me tons of cards that say "We love Amy" and they've given me pieces of plastic jewelry, pictures of the American flag that they have colored, and stickers. Today I went to a play about "Historias de Amor" (Stories of Love). I was impressed that I was able to understand everything, and as cheesy as the play was (reeeeaaally cheesy), it was actually really good practice for me to listen to how present tense, past participle, different kinds of past tense, future tense, etc are used. The students, 3rd-6th grade, walked from the school to the theatre. About a 15 minute walk. I wouldn't even dream of trying to walk with students of that age to a place for a field trip in the US. They'd be all over the place and behaving horribly. Things like this is a major difference I've noticed between Spain and the US. Another example, today I took a picture with one of the first grade classes and it was when they were in the middle of working in their workbooks. They lined up pretty quietly at the blackboard, smiled for the picture, then sat back down. Can you imagine me trying to do this with 1st graders in the US? They'd be running all over the room, talking loudly not being able to keep their mouths shut, etc. I LOVE this age in both Spain and the US, but this task of taking a picture wouldn't have been as easy with students in the US.

Next time I update I'll be somewhere other than Avila! 😊 Send me emails still because I'll have access to the internet while I'm traveling! 😊

Hasta luego!

Advertisement



11th May 2006

Spain
Know you are excited and a little sad. You have had a great experience. Do be careful while traveling. Love you.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb