Ávila is a walled town


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Ávila
February 26th 2008
Published: February 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So it was about time that I took a trip to visit Louis in Ávila.

I managed to catch the last us and got there just in time for the trip to the kebab and then, the bars!!! Despite it's size, Ávila seems to have a healthy proportion of young people and therefore...bars! Hurray!
Besides that, Shannon had appointed herself my winglady for the weekend. If perhaps I had mastered the knack of Spanish chat-up, we may have made an indestructable pair. But as it is. Im absolutely bloody useless at pulling in Spain. Ah well. It was a good night and we crashed back home at around 4am. NOt too shabby.

The next day was a rather tender affair. I woke up snuggling with the cat Pantera, and spent the rest of the morning gingerly shifting my bum in the lounge chairs. By the afternoon we had decided to do something with the day, and went sightseeing. Ávila is the home of Santa Terésa who founded a new order of nuns, and the town's Cathedral is one of the most important in Spain. Behind the altar the roof and walls are made from a type of rock that is coloured beige and rose like a seaside candy. The murals and carved Capella walls are fabulously intricate. I was in such awe of it all, of what man can create and the power of faith when Louis pointed out "and there's Jesus in a skirt"...and 3,2,1, I was back in the room. Sure enough, there was a painting of Jesus on a cross in a lace petticoat titled Jesus of Burgos

By sheer coincidence, Jesus in a skirt was closely followed by Jesus my homeboy (see picture) I know from my Catholic upbringing that laughing in church is not permitted. But sometimes you just cant help it.

After the Cathedral we joined the oldies of the town and "fuimos a dar un paseo y tomemos algo" while Louis told me his funny Spanish stories. Our walk took us all the way out to Cuatro postes the monument to comemorate the spot where they caught Santa Terésa when she ran away from Ávila as a youngster. The moon came out early to make our walk extra special and we headed home to Pizza and a night out in a local Pueblo.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb