Walking Day 1 First Day on The Camino


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Astorga
May 9th 2014
Published: May 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today was the beginning of the Camino and although very anxious about what awaited me it was a great day walking through the countryside.

My transfer to Hospital de Orbigo was almost an hour late making me uneasy and thinking that something was wrong, but when I called them it was all good "ah si si, we come, it's Sunday!" No rush on Sundays, or any other day I think which can be refreshing at times. Anyway after getting dropped off at my starting point the driver bid me "Buen Camino" (a good luck gesture said by many along the way) and I hit the cobblestone in 9 degrees, brrrrrr.

As I warmed up so did the day and within a few hours I was walking and talking with others. There are a lot of German's on the walk at the moment, a few Korean's, Italian's and a couple of funny Japanese guys on bikes (one who has classical music blaring from the back). After watching the cyclists pedal along the rocky dirt track and up the hills, a few of us agreed that we were pleased to be walking.

The scenery today was great, lots of lush green fields, streams, snow capped mountains in the distance, beautiful buildings and lots of flowers everywhere.

Got into Astorga just after 1pm and headed for lunch which today was paella and braised chicken with the usual half a loaf of bread and wine, oh and the ubiquitous hot potato discs. Honestly so much food in these lunch deals, don't think I need dinner tonight.

The main plaza in town has an ornate clock with two mechanical figures that strike the central bell, my hotel is just near it and I've heard it all afternoon. Not annoying, quite pleasant actually, that and the church bells kind of remind me of being at Grandma's in Bundaberg as a kid.

Went for a walk through town to the Catedral St Marta and the Museo de Los Caminos, however both were closed as it's Sunday. Got pics though and it was a nice walk after lunch. Check out the pic of the Jamon (cured pork leg) shop I walked by too!

22kms ahead tomorrow with a slight ascent and Tuesday will be 26kms with a steep ascent into the mountains where it's meant to be rather cold.

Until then, take care, miss you all!

K


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement




Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb