Missing in Action


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, Ok, Ok....I have been a bit absent for the last 3 (many 4) days. My bad. There have been some significant computer access issues compounded by the need to complete a research project with the undergraduate students. So, any free time was finding and reading research articles and then creating papers and powerpoints. Since no printer is available, all of this becomes dependent on the live use of the computer. Yikes! It has been a nightmare.

So, now that I have clarified my absence, I can tell you what I have been up to. Well, we went to the Don Quiote trail and it really blew. The wise planners of the trip had us on the bus to walk the trail on a day when the temperature we 102 degrees. We drove for approximately 1 1/2 hours and then arrived at the town where Don Quiote supposedly visited. That´s when they realized that it was Monday and everything is closed on Mondays. So we walked around the town and then back to the bus for a long ride home. Not so fun.

On Tuesday, Mary and I worked feverously to get our trip to Barcelona planned. And I can tell you now, on Friday afternoon, we did not do a good job since we are still here in Toledo. We toured a hospital, I think, and then sat around in the evening. Not much there.

On Wednesday, everyone when to Madrid, but Mary and I stayed behind to work on our research projects. I mostly read and napped. That´s it there.

On Thursday, we toured a geriatric hosptial in the morning (8:50AM), got back in time to have a cup of tea at hot gelato man´s shop, went to lunch and then work with the undergraduate students to finish up the projects and presentations. Katie and I did have a computer, so we went to gelato man´s shop to sit in the back and type our paper on his laptop. He left for Madrid as we arrived, so no free gelato : (. Anyway, three hours later - our paper was done and we headed to dinner. At 9:30 PM we started to present our projects. Not very fun. Although the presentations were supposed to be 15 minutes, a couple of groups went 30-45 minutes. I totally hate that!!!!!! We didn´t get done until 11:30PM. Since I was in such a sour mood, I thought I would mix it with some vodka and make a twist. So Mary and I gussied up and headed out. I got home this morning at 7AM. It was a very fun night of running the club circuit with the Toledo residence.

Today, I am just doing a little laundry and napping. Hopefully Mary and I will find something wonderful to occupy our weekend.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb