Toledo


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Toledo
February 7th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The first trip that I took outside of Madrid was to Toledo, about an hour bus ride from Madrid. I went with my school, and got a nice tour of Toledo. It is a very picturesque city, with a lot of different cultures to explore. In Toledo, there is evidence of Muslims, Christians and Jews. It is one of the only cities in the world where these three religions can live peacefully. I got to see churches, mosques and synagogues that used elements from the three religions and made them very unique. Toledo is also the city where El Greco, a very famous Spanish artist, spent most of his life. I really enjoy El Greco's work because of the way that he depicts the human body, so I was very excited to see one of his most famous pieces, The Burial of the Count of Orgaz. Toledo is also famous for making swords and suits of armor, and it was actually in Toledo where they made the swords used in one of my favorites, Lord of the Rings. The buildings and paintings were amazing to see, but my favorite part of the trip was this little park right on the river. It was a beautiful view and so nice to just sit and relax by.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb