in Murcia


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile-La Mancha » Albacete
June 1st 2007
Published: June 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I made it to Murcia where I will be living for the next month...still no pictures yet but i should be able to buy the adapter soon. Lets see , I went by train from Madrid yesterday and it took about 3 and a half hours. We arrived and a guy from the university of Murcia welcomed us at the at the station and took Zach and I to our apartments. Mine is on calle Ricardo Gil fairly close to the center of the city. I have two roommates, Susanna from Hungary and Malala from Colombia. It is a nice little apartment with three bedrooms and two baths, there is a spacious living room and kitchen plus two balconies, a covered one and an open one...I also have a washing machine, yay! No air conditioning though and it is really hot here, but its not too bad because we open the windows at night and let in the cool air plus we created a breeze way by opening all the doors and then during the day we close the windows and curtains to trap the cool air, it works pretty well. Right now there is a nice breeze outside so i am sitting on our open balcony writing this. Its an experience because in order to start the hot water in our apartment you have open the gas can and then turn a knob and then light the furnace thing with a match lol, but the water is hot...we also have a gas stove and no microwave, i will be learning how to cook much better I think. The girls I live with are really nice and fun, they both speak fluent Spanish and have been living here about 6 months to a year between the two of them. They have lots of friends here and know the city really well. They have introduced me to people and we are going out tonight with friends too, so integrating into the youth culture here will hopefully be easier for me. Communicating with the Spaniards here is quite another thing however. I can understand my roommates pretty well, but I cannot understand the people of this region hardly at all haha, so we will see how that goes. Susanna and Malala told me it was the same for them when they arrived and not to worry, spanish is even Malalas maternal language and she said she had some difficulty, they said to give it a week or so and it will be a little better. The neighborhood where I live is pretty nice, there are people walking and chatting on the streets and a little bakery and market nearby. There is also a guy in the building across from ours that plays spanish opera music very loudly with the windows open, its not so bad unless you are trying to concentrate on something lol. Something interesting to note is that contact solution is ridiculously expensive here...like 13 euros a bottle normally, but I was able to find some in the mercado for like 6 euros but still its crazy because 6 euros is like 8 dollars. Anyways I am going to the Mediterranean sea tomorrow with Susanna in Alicante and she has a friend there too so it should be fun, its about an hour or so by train from here. So I wanted to tell eveyone that if you can get away from work or school in the next month you are more than welcome to come visit me here in the south of spain, the apartment is big enough and my roommates dont care :-) well I will talk to yall later, i also responded to some of your comments so be sure to read them. Kisses and Hugs, hasta luego!

Advertisement



1st June 2007

I want to go to the sea!!!!
Hey stinker. Quit rubbing it in!! :> Be careful at the beach. There are sharks both in and out of the water and the land sharks/guys are the worst. Your apartment sounds great...wish I could work out a trip there also. I can't believe how much contact solution costs...that's crazy. Also I can not find where you have responded to comments on this blog. Someone e-mail me and let me know where they are. I can't wait for more pics. I'm glad your roomates have been there a while and can help you get around. Good luck on improving your Spanish. Have a good weekend and be careful. Love Mom PS----Hi Jerome. I'm sure you are reading these.
1st June 2007

Your Blog
I am printing your blog for you and keeping it in a binder so you will always have it. I'm such a good mommy!!!! Love ya.
1st June 2007

Big Gassy Apartment
Well, your apartment sounds really nice. I worry about all that gas. I mean, let's face it Jess, you don't remember to turn stuff off an on sometimes. (you have this snickering 'who me' face on right now) Just be sure to check that the gas is always off. Sounds like your no AC problem is being controlled... I'm sure those places are built to be cool in the day, considering where they are. It's good that your roommies can speaka da language. You'll be there in no time. Be sure and check your emails. Also, where do I see your comments back? I'll probably find it after this comment (I did try to look) but tell me so I'll know. I love you! YFA

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb