Day 14 Arce to Santillana del mar 20K


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria » Santillana del Mar
May 15th 2017
Published: May 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Our B & B was terrific. Javier was so kind to drive al the way into Santandler and pick Kris up and bring her the B &B . Then he had his father take Kris to our hotel in Santtillana Del Mar. Me on the other hand, I have a 7 Hr. 30 min walk. The day is stunning, rain last night but cool sunny skies greet me. Our host drops me off at The Camino and I begin the trek. The scenery, weather, trail could not be better. Old country roads, no traffic, its perfect. Great day to be walking. Its always of interest to me the small things going on, spring begins, gardens, flowers, new birth abounds. You can only truly experience this by walking. What are they planting? What is already ripened, what slope or amount sun and where do you plant what stuff? One thing for sure, EVERY farm has cows. For milk. Meat and fertilizer. The farmers are spreading cow shi_ EVERYWHERE. Hence the smell of cow shi_ is in the air. Non the less it is the most pleasent walking conditions I have encountered. It's not for everyone, but for me its what I hoped for. I am walking at a brisk pace as this is Kris's last day. I want to spend as much time as I can with her. I arrive at Santillanda del mar in 6 hours, and much to surprise it's SO COOL. Its is a completely authentic medieval town. Great hotel, I find my GF quickly and head out for lunch. The town is so great, but nasty to walk in. Cobble stones last for centuries BUT they are uneven ankle biters. After lunch I head to soak in a tub, Kris goes shopping. SURPRISE? Kris must leave at 7am for Bilbao then on to Barcelona. It's a privet taxi because no train, or bus is available. Love this town, would return again via anything but not on foot.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb