A Saturday off the Ship


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands
June 23rd 2014
Published: June 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

We are about 100 crew now, plus the dock workers that come every day. Saturday is a half day for the workers. The whistle sounds every morning at seven to signal the start of the work day. We are at the Astican Dock. The ship was lifted onto dry dock on Wednesday. We are out of the water.



We finally got out passports stamped. Since we arrived in the working part of the port and not with the cruise ships, there wasn’t a clear procedure for how to go about it all. People that were leaving the country within a day or two after arriving in the Canaries went to the passport office. After a few days, someone came on the ship and stamped the rest. We are still carrying our Mercy Ships ID and copies of out passports for getting around. People that want to spend lots of money, rent a car, or spend the weekend at a hotel carry passports. The rest of us use a photo copy or our ship ID.



Since I didn’t have to work today, I left right after breakfast which ended at 7:30. I brought my packed lunch of egg salad sandwiches and dried figs. I also took a book, sunglasses, suntan lotion, Euros and my Bono card. Right now $0.70 is equal to about one Euro. Everything looks like a good deal until I think about the equivalent in dollars. The Bono card is 8.50 Euros and is good for 10 bus rides within the city. Without a card it is 1.40E. So it is a good deal.



First, I walked to the Tourist Information Center. It took me about 90 minutes. It didn’t open until 10:00 so I read my book in the nearby park. I found out how to get to several places. The Tourism lady spoke English, which made it easier. I decided that since I was getting a late start that I would go to the nearest place on my list, the Botanical Gardens. I took city bus #12 to the bus stop in San Telmo which is about a 10 minute ride. I located gate 25 in the terminal. After a few minutes of seeing only a few busses, I looked at the fine print on the schedule which said there were no busses on Saturday and Sunday to the Botanical Gardens.



Since I was in the old part of the city, Trianna, I decided to walk around there. The main attraction for many is the pedestrian mall. It has all the usual stores from Europe and the USA. Benches line the main walkway and little cafes fill the side streets. I especially enjoy the street musicians. Two young guys were playing Mozart on the violin and bass. It was lovely. I sat on a bench on the shady side of the street and ate my lunch and had a Coke Light. About two thirds of the shops closed about one o’clock. They reopen about 5ish.



I bought some blank cards. I will decorate them with images made of African fabric and sell them in the ship shop. I have been able to make and sell a few things. They sell quickly. Wish I had time to make more. No. I did not bring my sewing machine. I am borrowing one, but am not sure how much longer I can use it.



After walking around some more I took the # 1 bus back to Catalina and got off near the beach. From there I walk back to the ship which took about one hour. Supper was beans, hotdogs and broccoli. That was my day. Except that I went to do laundry at 11:00 P.M. There are only five machines that are operational during dry dock.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb