Whale* Watching


Advertisement
Published: March 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our next stop was Tenerife. We decided to go for a whale watch. Imagine our surprise when we learned that the "whales" were actually dolphins. Feel compelled to call BS on that one.

Anyway, we boarded a catamaran with a bunch of other lazy tourists and were taken out to sea to watch for these whale/dolphins. The sea was blue, the sky was blue, the sun was shining, and there was free wine. This was excellent.

Our expert guide was able to find a number of dolphins for us to look at. It's so neat they'll swim lazily alongside the boat and they're like gently undulating monoliths. They looked so fat and funny I just wanted to poke them. This is not allowed unfortunately. I kept wanting to stand up on the rails to better see the dolphins and Vince kept telling me to sit down. He is considerably more protective than my mother, I don't get the impression she much cares what boats I tumble out of. This is sweet I suppose but it's bad when your boyfriend makes you think of your mother...

There was a restaurant called KFC -- Kabob Food Kitchen -- that had a logo similar to our KFC. We did not get to eat at this place but it was nonetheless distrubing.



Some people from the boat went swimming but it appeared to be very very cold in the water and this prospect was unappealing to Vince and me so we went back to the ship and ate a lot. I will address this aspect of crusies in a later blog.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb