San Sebastian


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
October 14th 2010
Published: October 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We have decided that Tapas are overrated, it's a very easy way to eat but they all seem to be the same, mainly different spreads on baguette bread some of which are very difficult to figure out what they are. We think that because San Sebastian is so close to France this is why the baguette is so popular here.
I think we were very successful riding the bikes around town yesterday, it is mainly very flat here so this made it possible. We rode them along the esplanade right around the 2 large front beaches and then took the funicular up to the top of the mountain at the end to see the beautiful views. Yeah I thought no climbing up stairs or high hills only to find an old lighthouse at the top which of course we had to climb. It was'nt that bad so I must be getting fitter than I was. Emily was worried that I would crash while riding the bike but I then found it hilarious as she was the first one to have a small tumble (she did'nt it the ground so thats why I laughed so much), she also got her holey jeans caught in the pedal which was also funny. We also rode the bikes to the other end of San Sebastian to the surf beach (only small waves) and then along the River Urumea where I managed to even things up by doing a massive wobble when I was getting started and nearly falling into the river. This made Em feel alot better and gave her a great laugh. After all this riding my leg muscles were really starting to feel it so we finished the day off by going to a place called La Perla sports centre which is situated right on the beach and has a large salt water whirlpool where we had a very enjoyable relax worth every euro.
Melanie I have decided I love Mojitos a mint drink with white rum, soda, sugar and lime, very refreshing. There is another drink here which is very popular with the young people here called kalimotxo, half red wine and half coke, sounds revolting!!!!!!!!
Last day here today then catching the train back to Madrid this afternoon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb