Day 5: Donostia art and castle walk


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
September 17th 2009
Published: September 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Beach walk


Walked the beach again this morning, there was better light so caught some great pictures of the Manolo Valdez sculptures along the promenade. I then had an amazing lunch at one of the restaurants along the marina. I had a salad, and grilled squid. It was the most I've spent for a meal here, 30€, but totally worth it! An amazing meal I will remember for years.

Hike to the castle


To be honest, by Seattle standards, it was more of a short walk. I assumed there would be great views from the top, I was not disappointed. Donostia is such a picturesque city; the green and the sea. Beautiful! On the way down, I explored the 'English Cemetery' which is on the same hill as the castle. I need to look up the story on it; why would English (I assume solders?) be buried near the castle? If I find it, I will update this.

After my walk, I wandered down to the sea. Mom loved the ocean, and would have loved this beach. I splashed in the water and thought of her, and got caught by a wave which came up to my knees. Made me laugh.

There are so many surfers here! It was great to watch them; I believe Donostia has the only left breaking surf in the world. The waves were amazing, nice big curls.

I sat at a beach side bar, watched the waves and surfers a while, and had a drink and chocolate cake. I felt quite lucky!

Leaving for Barcelona tomorrow morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



19th September 2009

Chocolate
So you travel all the way to Spain and find chocolate. Congratulations, the Daniels "chocolate gene" still works. Sounds like you are having a great time. I read about some storms in Spain recently and was hoping you were not getting rained out. Looking forward to reading more about your trip.

Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 14; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1215s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb