San Sebastian: The most beautiful view in the world..


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
July 4th 2009
Published: August 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Now this is a town I could easily spend some more time in one day. I recently just had a great stay in San Sebastian and loved every minute of it. This is a cool little holiday spot I can highly recommend to everyone.

As you can see by the pictures it also has the most amazing views. Also I didn’t make up the most beautiful view in the world thing’.. there’s actually a plaque at the top of the lookout saying that.. The day I went up to the lookout I literally just sat there by myself for about 3 hours just staring out at the bay. With the crystal blue water, cool sea breeze and perfect bay it was so nice I didn’t want to leave.

San Sebastian is located in the very far north of Spain right next to the French border. It’s a real tourist hot spot and considered one of the nicer places to visit in Spain. The weather is normally pretty good too, it has a nice beach (even though its crowded) and the old town is really nice. Apparently it also has the most bars per square metre of any town in Spain which I thought was interesting.

Now originally I wasn’t actually going to go there but a few friends I had met along the way convinced me to go. At first I was a bit hesitant as the running of the bulls was on nearby by and I figured it was going to be mental crazy.. but in the end I decided to check it out and I’m glad I did.

I managed to get some last minute accommodation through a friend of a friend at a hostel called “David Quinn” named after the owner. I was a very cool little apartment right next to the beach that slept about 25 people in 6 different rooms. And man.. did we have some fun in that place. It was like staying in someone’s apartment and every night everyone partied together which was so much fun.

Each room had its own little plasma screen TV’s with built in DVD’s players, great little safes for your valuable and nearly every night David (the owner) placed a two litre bottle of vodka on the kitchen table just to get the party started! In all I spent 10 nights there and must have made as many ‘good’ friends along the way. I really hope I get the chance to catch up with some of them again as they were all very cool.

Also as I mentioned earlier the running of the bulls was also on at the same time in Pamplona which was about 45 mins away buy. When this is on each year a lot of people come and stay in San Sebastian as it’s a lot cheaper and then commute across each day. Unfortunately because of the way the buses run if you want be there at night time you have to catch a bus across in the afternoon.. party all night and stay awake, run with the bulls at 8am the next morning then catch the 11am bus back again. It’s a big 24hrs as you can imagine. I had tried (or should I say planned) to go to Pamplona twice on two separate occasions whilst I was there and both time couldn’t make it (might have been due to hangovers from the night before.. but don’t tell my mum! Hehe). Anyway I guess theres always next time.. I still had fun.

And after my last update (blog) I was also thinking a bit more about travelling in general and my new travel friends I’ve met along the way. I’ve managed to make some great new friends this year all whom I would never have met if I hadn’t have come on this journey. One thing I realised is it’s not about how much time you spend with them it’s actually about the connection you make. And as travellers with similar interest’s you can instantly become friends… its weird hey? I’ve met some people for literally a few hours on this trip who I now consider a good friends. For example this is me attempting to classify the type of people you meet along the way;

Transport Friends:

These are the people you meet in transit. It can be on a bus, train, plane or even in a train station whilst waiting for a bus. Everyone has a story to tell and if your prepared to say “Hi, were you heading..” it’s a sure way to start up a conversation. Besides it’s so easy to pick a fellow backpacker in a crowd and most of them (especially the ones travelling solo) really appreciate the conversation.

Facebook Friends:

When I left Australia I had like 30 friends on Facebook and now I have like 200!. Admittedly I didn’t use it much before but now its become a life line. Trust me, when travelling solo it is such a great way to stay in contact with everyone. Basically if your not on facebook when travelling you may as well pack your bags and head home. All you need is a first and last name (or an email) and you can get in contact with someone you’ve just met (handy for those drunken nights too!!). I would say I now regularly talk to 20-30 people I’ve met along the way a week now via facebook.. its great.

Hostel Friends:

As the name suggests, these are the people who you meet at your hostel. Now this one really is strange. You could pass a stranger on the street and you’d never consider saying hi, let alone starting a conversation with them … but see them at a hostel for 30 seconds and its hi, how are you? What you been up to today..??” Then share a room or dorm with them and instantly you’ve got a friend to go out drinking or sightseeing with. It like an instant bond… Crazy hey.

Adventure Friends:

These are the ones that normally become good friends and you stay in contact with. Once again it can be for a night, a day, a couple of days or even a week. But these are fellow travellers you meet along the way that you share experiences with. Once again it can happen in a number of different way but fundamentally you enjoy spending time with them, usually have something in common and genuinely want to spend more time with them. I’ve had some great adventures this year and made some great adventure friends along the way. These are my favourite people!

Anyway you’ve proberly had enough of my rambling for the moment. It’s 3.15am in the morning.. must be time for bed! Talk soon.

PS. Did I mention San Sebastian rocks! hehe



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0239s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb