The last night in San Sebastian


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » San Sebastián
May 19th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After checking out the surf beach from Zurriola Promenade in San Sebastian it was time to leave the surfers and that bizarre naked man who was just walking up and down along the beach (go figure) and head back past the Kursaal to the old part of town. On the way I passed the same old sandstone building that I had during the past three days. It was then that I realised that it was a theatre and that there was a show on that night. Imagine walk past the same building all the time and it finally dawns on you that it is a theatre, so much for thinking that I was one of the sharper tools in the shed, oh well.

Thinking a bit of culture could be a good idea it was off to the tourist info again to find out more. All they could tell me was yes there was something on that night and yes I could get tickets, maybe, from the box office which opened at 6pm. All organised then, time for a nana nap and then back in time for the box office to open. Bonus, there is a ticket available for the bargain basement price of €20. The box office lady was even kind enough to give me a brochure on the play. La Tabernera Del Puerto, a romance marinero en tres actos. With my now improving Spanish I´m guessing it was a three act romance set by the sea.

With a little bit of time to kill it was time to have a look around the outside of the theatre, they had this little exhibition off to one side. It was then that I realised that the theatre had recently been restored and from the photos looked amazing. Starting to get a little excited about this evening´s entertainment now.

Time to enter the theatre, up the marble staircase, complete with red carpet to the lift. The lift took me up to the nose bleed section three levels up. Ushered into my seat and then, how good is this place, all I could do was sit and smile, it was very impressive, all the guilding, the fresco on the ceiling, it had it all, plus I had a great view of the stage.

Unfortunately the show didn´t have surtitles and it was as it turned out a Spanish opera. Luckily though I had been brushing up on my Spanish by watching reruns of Knightrider, McIver, Friends and that game show on Channel 7 where you guess how much money is in your suitcase all dubbed in Spanish. The opera was your typical girl loves boy, another boy steals girl, they are happy, they get lost at sea (devastation), then they are found and all live happily ever after. The performance by the actors was sensational, the singing was brilliant and the set well done.

So now being a happy little cultured camper, it was time to brave the tapas bars and put the nosebag on. Eventually ended up back at my old favourite place where they knew that it was a red wine that was needed. Bumped into a few lads from England, they were here to catch some waves and had spent the day amongst it at the beach, they too saw strange naked man. Their luck was a little less then mine, their boards hadn´t arrived and they hadn´t found anywhere to stay yet. Oh well that was the cue for me to escape back to the warmth of the pension, as tommorrow was time to go somewhere new.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb