Planning the Tapas Tour


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Bilbao
August 17th 2015
Published: August 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Map of Route - SpainMap of Route - SpainMap of Route - Spain

Rough outline of the cycle route, Bilbao - Barcelona.
So, with September approaching and the memories of my St Malo to Nice trip starting to fade, it seems like the Summer hasn't quite flourished in Scotland yet so I've decided it's probably time for another relaxing break.

The whole guided cycling trip was great fun. but I thought I would try it on my own - unless someone else wants to come along for the ride...

I've decided on Bilbao to Barcelona. Two cities that I love, and a route that Skedaddle do. This means that I can kind of copy their route knowing that there will be somewhere to stay at the end of each day, but with my own modifications as I'd like to revisit San Sebastian and Pamplona on the way.

Logistics is a bit more difficult as there's no van to carry my clothing and no other riders to follow. Bike bag for flights is also a problem. Initial thoughts are to package my bike for outward flight in cardboard and then go to a bike shop in Barcelona for the same to come home, or get a friend to fly out with my bike bag for return flight. Garmin GPS and a
Map of Route - North of SpainMap of Route - North of SpainMap of Route - North of Spain

Rough outline of the cycle route, Bilbao - Barcelona.
bit of planning should keep me on track throughout the journey. I also intend to just carry one pannier with minimum luggage. Washing cycle kit in the shower at the end of each day works fine, I'll just need a toothbrush, my kindle and some togs for exploring at night.

Plan so far is :

AUGUST

Thursday 27th : fly Edinburgh to Bilbao

Friday 28th : relax in Bilbao

Saturday 29th : Bilbao - San Sebastian 118Km

Sunday 30th : San Sebastian - Pamplona 91Km

Monday 31st : Pamplona - Luesia 95Km

SEPTEMBER

Tuesday 1st : Luesia - Alquezar 135Km

Wednesday 2nd : Alquezar - Os de Balaguer 108Km

Thursday 3rd : Os de Balaguer - Peramola 109Km

Friday 4th : Peramola - Monserrat 109Km

Saturday 5th : Monserrat - Barcelona 61Km

TOTAL 826 Km / 513 Miles



Then a few days RnR in Barcelona :o)

Advertisement



17th August 2015

Testing out the comments bit.
I'll write here if I end up getting SPAM after a comment - otherwise it's safe to comment and leave your email addy.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb