BILBAO


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Basque Country » Bilbao
May 29th 2013
Published: May 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

BILBAO - Wednesday 29th May

I'm sitting in the foyer of the Barcelo Nervion Hotel in Bilbao trying to connect with their wifi network. I continue to have difficulties with this. Last night I was able to have a small but unreliable connection at McDonalds in Madrid. Just enough to read all the well wishes on my fb page.

Today was another day of travel -this time from my hotel in Madrid to the Chamartin train station via the metro. I had left with plenty of time to spare so I had breakfast while I waited to catch the trian to Bilbao - train travel is quite relaxing and comfortable. People seemed amazed that someone can sleep with their head on the tray attached to the seat in front! Thank you Jo-ann Stroud for that!

Madrid's weather had been humid and warm - 24 degrees. As the train travelled towards the coast the temperature dropped to about 9 degrees but thankfully rose again to be about 15 by the time I reached Bilbao. It's raining here, and has been for quite a while. I'm sure if the man at recption said 14 or 40 days!

I walked along the river to the Guggenheim Museum - very impressive - very unique!

Have just met up with my fellow walkers - 2 women from Australia! We are waiting for our guide to arrive - so we are eating tapas at the bar in the hotel.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0656s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb