Hello sunshine & Beaches! Mallorca baby!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
June 16th 2009
Published: July 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Mallorca.

We flew into Mallorca which is one of the spainish islands after going to Defqon1 festival on the weekend. We were excited for the sun and the beach and doing nothing else. It was our first stop in Spain and we were looking forward to things being a bit cheaper. For the most part we weren't disappointed. Beer was 2 euro for a six pack for really nice cervesas, food was also dirt cheap in the bigger supermarkets. Even the "rip off" restaurants along the beach were cheap compared most of Western Europe. We spent our first night in this tiny little room which was horrible. We thought the whole hotel would be like this but we changed the next night into our proper room. The owner was really nice and apologetic about the whole deal so we werent angry at all. Our new room was a lot bigger, had a double bed (Well two singles pushed together but good enough) a fridge and its own bathroom - which kinda smelt bad for the remaining 10 nights (Think the plumbing in Spain isnt too crash hot because we experienced this again when we went to Barcelona next).

Bee Dandy: My first impression was that the beach was touristy but BEAUTIFUL - and my god, was it hot...wearing a black t-shirt and jeans on our to Mallorca was a bad choice! Also, I spent the first night wondering if I could brush my teeth with their water (I ended up using bottled water hehe). Our hotel was also just up the road from the beach yayyyyyyyy 😊

Day 2 saw us go by some awesome floating devices (An orange donut for Bee and a big yellow bed for me!) and head to the beach. We relaxed, swam, tanned, read, swam some more and enoyed the day. It wasnt until a few hrs after getting back to the hotel that we realised just how burnt I was...I looked like a tomato. It was horrible and really really painful. This wrote off our next day because I was in too much pain to move. We grabbed some chicken from a take away shop, some potato salad, chorizo and a bagguette from the supermarket and we had a nice little semi cold dinner on our balcony.

Bee Dandy: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. TOMATO MAN! Thank you good genes for not letting me be tomato girl. I slip slop slapped though so I didn't tan as much as you might think I would :P I love my orange donut...I write this in Portugal where my donut is sitting in my backpack deflated because I refuse to throw it away :P I loved swimming around but relaxing on the beach is boring as! It took me some time to get used to it lol.

Day 4 involved us heading into Palma, the capital city of Mallorca. We were staying in Arenal which is a town about 30mins away. Palma was really nice. Very clean and well presented. We were going to have Menu Del Dia at a little resturant reccommened in our lonely planet book but were disappointed to find it had closed and been replaced by a Real Estate. We strolled through the streets undeterred heading in the direction of a warehouse sized retaurant serving traditional food and eventually found a sandwich place that did awesome chicken, bacon, tomato, lettuce and aoli dressing. They were huge and we wolfed them down and went on our way. We headed to the cathedral and checked it out and the surrounding port area. It was a pretty relaxing day spent mostly out of the dangerous sun. We headed back to Arenal where we grabbed some dinner from a place called Q Bar. They had specials on pasta and pizza for 4.95 Euro and the meals where huge and very tasty. So tasty in fact we went back twice more before we left. Our other meal saver was Mcdonalds and the holy euro menu (Or Uno menu in spain) where you can get food like hamburgers con queso (With cheese), nomal hamburgers, chips, nuggets, a chicken burger and a few other things for a Euro each. this was our lunch most days and usually set us back around 5 or 6 euro together. Pretty good for people trying to save money.

Bee Dandy: Palma and the bus ride to and from was a good way to see the area. Far out, it was expensive near the cathedral though...2.50 euro for a Fanta! Q Bar actually does really yum food, was right on the beach with big white cushioned wicker chairs and it's funny to watch the pretty waitresses get hit on my drunk Germans and Dutchies! By the way, by this point Smic looked like he had poured glue all over his body and it was peeling off!

Day 5 saw us feeling up to going to the beach again and we spent an enjoyable morning wadding around in the water. Needless to say I got burnt again over my original sunburn even after applying a heap of suncream. This time it was starting to become a little painful at the beach but still really relaxing and fun. We decided it was time to hit up some mini golf in the afternoon. After paying for 18 holes I pulled out to a nice lead and thought my time playing Golf with Des in Ireland had helped my putting game. This was the point at which I began to crumble and Bee Bee fought back. I shot 2 or 3 over on 4 straight holes and then Bee Bee had a commanding lead going into the final 4. I stepped up my game and after some amazing putting skills I drew level with one hole to go. I was confident I could win from here and even after missing my second put by a mircoscopic amount I putted my third shot straight in. I was thinking now the result would be a tie. Surely Bee Bee would crack under the pressure and continue her 4 hole run of bad luck. Oh how wrong I was, what happened next brought me all the way back to the day I played with mum and she won on the last hole by getting a hole in one which was unbelivable! Needless to say Bee Bee stepped up to the plate and dropped it in, in one!! I was speechless, it was her second hole in one for the day and I had none. I gracefully accepted defeat and we headed home. On the way we walked past a place called Mega Park. We thought it was an amusement park but we were oh so wrong. It was a massive German beer hall filled with girls dancing on tables, people with their own personal kegs that had bought from the bar and lots of very drunk people singing traditional German songs. It was scary but fun at the same time, we only walked through not staying for a drink though. I spent the night knocking back beers and we ate some dinner and slumped into sleep.

Day 6 and 7 were spent walking along the beach, swimming and lazy around. It was relaxing and fun and I was starting to turn a very dark brown all over except where my boardies sat on me. Bee Bee was also getting dark but a more natural nice looking golden brown instead of my skin which looked like it had been left in the oven for too long. We ended these nights with drinking big bottles of sangria from a bucket (Apparently something done in Mallorca). For 7 euro we got a bucket, three litres of sangria, ice and two incredibily long straws (See the pics to find out just how long!!!). We also shaved my head close to nothing except for my mowhawk which ran all the way along my head. I had been wanting to do this for some time and was glad we finally had the time and space to do it.

Day 8 - Aqualand!!! We had been excited about this for months, ever since we knew we were going to Mallorca. Aqualand is a water park which looked pretty cool on their website. We were greeted at the gate to get out photo taken with a massive Macaw, a python then with a guy dressed up in a frog suit (Aqualand mascot apparently). This was kool and we checked out the photos at the end of the day but were never going to pay 8 Euro each for them. Aqualand saw us hitting up slides like Rapids, Crazy Race, The Blackhole, Anaconda and lots of others. The place wasnt very packed and we barely waited in any lines for rides which was awesome. It was well worth it and we had a really fun day before heading back to the hotel for a well deserved rest.

Day 9 included the beach and then Bee Bee's night. We had agreed because we didnt really do anything for our three yr anniversary in Ireland we would each get a night to pamper the other. It was a really relaxing night, got dinner and desert then headed back to the hotel to relax and to continue her night. Im looking forward to my night in Porto which will hopefully be filled with yummy food and relaxing activities and movies etc.

Day 10 - Getting very close to the end!!! We spent at the beach then went for a walk along the beach at night and got some really pretty photos of the sun setting over the ocean.

Day 11 was here and was spent soaking up the sun and enjoying the water for the last time for a couple of weeks. Overall Mallorca was awesome, it was cheap, beautiful, lively, relaxing and overall a lot of fun. One thing I didnt mention above because I couldnt remember the day we got it but we bought a litre tub of this delicious icecream from a ice cream palour. We choose our flavours (Chocolate, Cookies, Caramel and Tiramisu) and they scooped it out of the big tubs and put it in a container. It was 7 euro but we ate it for about a week! It was unbeliveable how good this ice cream was.

Bee Dandy: One thing Smic really didn't get across is that Arenal, Mallorca is FILLED with German and Dutch bucks night tourists and other holidaying crazies which is a really random and slightly scary sight. They are so enthusiastic when it comes to partying and it's hilarious walking along the beach spotting the passed out, vommiting or dancing boys. Menus at restaurants will mostly be advertised as Dutch and German before Spanish or English which was reallyyyy confusing for us :P We were in Spain but it was as if we were in a part of Germany with a beach!

I also sunbaked topless, I was really nervous but it needed to be done because I had triangle shapes on my boobies. I only did it once though so it didn't do much lol. I also had a moment on one of the nights where I was one of the only people in the water and the water looked like Alex Mac (you know that old kids show where she turns herself into a silver blob) and I was looking at all the pretty lights of the city across from us and I felt super happy. It was an awesome holiday from our holiday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 135, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb