Paradise, thy name is Mallorca


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca
June 19th 2007
Published: June 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Mallorca

From Nice to Barcelona to Port de Pollensa in Mallorca

Packed BeachPacked BeachPacked Beach

This was on one of the less crowded beaches too.

Mallorca
Edgar Barguiarena
So I thought I needed a vacation from all the incredible sights I had been seeing and the places I was visiting. After I had finally made it to Barcelona and getting a taste of the beach I decided to make my way to the small island of Mallorca. I dont exactly remember what made me come here, I think I figured it would be a nice detour on my way to Ibiza. I didnt know much about this place or what there was to do, just that there were supposedly some pretty nice beaches and that it was a nice contrast to the crazy party lifestyle of Ibiza. I figured three days max, and that would put me in Ibiza for the weekend. Here it is, 8 days later and I still dont want to really leave. This place has just been incredible, not what I expected but it turned out to be what I was looking for. I'm browner than I have ever been, more relaxed, and have met alot of very interesting characters. But let me start at where I left off, on my way from the French Riviera to Barcelona.

The strike was finally over,
On the Cristobal Colon MonumentOn the Cristobal Colon MonumentOn the Cristobal Colon Monument

This is probably one of my favorite monuments, it sits in the middle of a roundabout with lion statues surrounding it.
well not all the way over, okay maybe there was no strike. I still dont know to this day what the hell was going on with the railroads. People in France told me the Spanish were striking, and once I got to Spain they told me the French were partially striking to certain routes. It didnt really matter much in the end, the important thing was that I finally got to Spain. After a harrowing 14 hour train ride we finally arrived in Barcelona, but not before we had a few stops in some of the smaller towns where the train stalled. One of the stops I'll never forget. Once we got into Spain it seemed the train stopped every five minutes, closer to Barcelona the train started getting really packed but people didnt seem to mind much. On one of the final stops the train stalled for about half an hour, no warning or explanation as to why. Before I knew it a party started to break out right there in the middle of the train. The old men in front of me pulled a beer out of their bag, one of the ladies near the exit started talking
Sunrise over NiceSunrise over NiceSunrise over Nice

Got to enjoy this view on the train as we were leaving the French Riviera.
really loudly on her cell phone describing the night before, the people nearest the door starting smoking a cigarette, and one of the younger guys starting blaring a techno/salsa mix on his portable boombox. Everyone was just chattering and having a good time, oblivious to the long delay. I remember seeing all this and just thought, "Welcome to Spain!" This place was just so full of life and personality, people were nicer and had alot more to say. It was a welcome transition from being in France. Plus, I could finally understand what everyone was saying!

I made the journey with two girls from San Diego that I had met in the hostel in Nice. I didnt have a hostel booked like them but was fortunate to find one right in the heart of Las Ramblas close to their hostel. Saturday night was a good night to get into Barcelona, and we were right in the middle of it. This place was just packed to the gills with people walking through the square. There were cafe's and bars everywhere and street performers competed for peoples attention and money. I also had my first experience with tapas, and let me
Camp Nou, home of FC BarcelonaCamp Nou, home of FC BarcelonaCamp Nou, home of FC Barcelona

This was taken right by the President´s box, very impressive stadium.
tell you, this is the way to eat out on the town. I just dont understand why there isnt more tapas bars in the states. It seems like the Spanish people have perfected the art of socializing. Tapas, sangria, live music, and outdoor patios everywhere just seem to invite lively conversation and it seemed like everyone was thoroughly enjoying themselves. People routinely stayed out until 5 or 6 in the morning but we called it quits somewhat early at 3am. The next day was all about the beach, it wasnt the nicest beach I have been to but it was certainly the most packed. The water was freezing so I didnt even bother there, but the sun was strong and the tanning was good. Chinese ladies were walking by offering massages for 5 euro, naturally I indulged a little bit and while I was getting a massage I stopped one of the Arab guys selling beer and got me a beer for 1 euro. No one had told me the beaches in barcelona were full service, but I was happy to find that out for myself. The following day I took in the sights, toured Camp Nou, home to FC
Gothic Cathedral, BarcelonaGothic Cathedral, BarcelonaGothic Cathedral, Barcelona

There happened to be an English choir singing just as I walked in.
Barcelona. The stadium can house more than 100,000 fans and was impressively kept up to date for being 50 years old now. It was a shame that I was only a week or two away from watching a game but I am determined to watch a soccer match at some point throughout the trip. Monday I took in more sites, plazas, cathedrals, and parks and then booked an overnight ferry to Mallorca. I caught Oceans 13 that day which was entertaining, the popcorn here was way better than back home.

Ahh, Mallorca. I dont think I´ll ever forget this place, it has been the most pleasant surprise on this trip thus far. I got in early tuesday morning thinking it would be a quick bus ride to my hostal. I booked it online but the site wasnt too specific as to where in Mallorca it was, I got on my bus on my way to the Puerto Pollenca stop figuring it would probably be in the outskirts of Palma. I started to nod off as I didnt get much sleep in the uncomfortable ferry and woke up about an hour later on the complete opposite end of the island!
Art EverywhereArt EverywhereArt Everywhere

Their was art displayed all over Barcelona. This display was in a plaza right by the beach.
Thinking I had missed my stop I spoke to the driver and he told me this was the end of the line, Puerto Pollensa. Relieved to find out I didnt miss my stop I got off and followed the directions to my hostal. Puerto Pollensa is a very small town in the northern edge of the island that has apparently been taken over by british tourists. I came to find out it is a popular vacation spot for british and german families, there was no one my age to be found. The hostal was fantastic however, I got my own room with its own bathroom which was a welcome change from the 16 bed dormitories with shared bathrooms. It was family owned by a couple from England and they made me feel very much at home. The first couple of days were somewhat lonely as there were only families around, hardly anyone my age, but it was break from the typical hostel crowd. I hit up the beach alot and walked around the small town getting to know the area, the cafe´s were varied and inexpensive which was nice. By the third day I got to know the regulars in
Barcelona BeachBarcelona BeachBarcelona Beach

This was taken on a cable car that went to the top of the hill near the beach.
the bar downstairs and quickly made friends with a 40-something year old Scottish woman named Allie and her very charming friend Tuula from Finland. They were both divorced and liked to have a beer or 8 on the weekends, which turned out perfectly for me as I hung out with them the next 3 nights. Thursday I had the most exquisite dinner prepared by the in-house chef, a 3 course meal that consisted of garlic mushrooms, pork-belly, mash potatoes with chorizo and a salad, all for only 10 euro. Friday night we went to the best tapas restaurant in town and then saw her friend play at the local irish pub, we then put our dancin shoes on and danced till about 3am when I had to call it quits. The girls stayed but I was exhausted, I woke up the next morning to extremely sore calves. Saturday night we stayed at the hostal bar and I was absolutely engrossed by the stories Alan the bartender was telling me. He was telling stories of the days he lived in the west end of London during the 60´s and how George Harrison and John Lennon used to come to the parties
Cristobal ColonCristobal ColonCristobal Colon

He is pointing to the America´s, Las Ramblas is just to the north of him.
he and his producer roommate of his used to throw. It didnt matter if the stories he was telling were true or not, he told them so masterfully that you couldnt help but be enthralled. I seemed to be the center of the attention at the bar as we all discussed American and British politics, followed by music and history trivia. It was by far one of the funnest nights I´ve had on this trip and I was easily 20 years younger than everyone else there.

I´m currently in Madrid now but I´ll have to update about the rest of my Mallorca trip later as my time is running out here at the internet cafe. Hope everyone is well, congrats to the Spurs for winning the championship! Keep those comments coming in, love to hear from everyone.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Gang @ the clubThe Gang @ the club
The Gang @ the club

Allie was right in front of me, Tuula next to me and to her right was Phil, a friend of theirs.


21st June 2007

I wish to be there
Hijo: Pues que te puedo decir despues de lo bien que describes los sacrificios que haces en tu diario vivir a travez de Europa,como tu dices algun dia Dios primero visitaremos Mallorca, quizas lo unico es que Allie esta un poco veterana pero pues como decia mi abuelito, no te quejes hijo, lo que caiga es bueno.Por lo demas vuelvo a decirte que me da mucho gusto los momentos que estas pasando y no esta por demas volver a pedirte que te cuides mucho especialmente cuando vayas a visitar los paises del Middle East, ya tu hermano anunció su itinerario y te encontrara en Estambul el dia primero de Julio, asi es que por favor tengan mucho cuidado en ese pais, que Dios los cuide mucho.Un abrazo y un beso. Te quiero mucho Papi
21st June 2007

older women!
You dog... getting on with the older women! Sitting at work, slaving away being jealous! Happy to hear your having such a great time!
21st June 2007

Wake-Up Call?
Aahh There's just nothing like a wake up call from Spain! Especially when you had one more hour to sleep before having to go to work! Lol Just kidding. :) I'm glad you're still safe and having a great time! Your blogs are still awesome as ever, I'm glad you have been able to make time to keep us updated.
21st June 2007

How 'Bout Them Scottish Women?
Edgar - this is my first comment to you on your wonderful TravelBlog...and let me tell you my Brother, the way you describe your adventures is truly captivating. I am thoroughly impressed with your writing skills and how you let us, the readers, feel your passion - keep up the good work. Now, let's get down to business...So, how's Allie doing? Way to go Ed...did you serenade her with some slow Rod Stewart lyrics? I better get off that subject as I am sure your/our Mom is reading this. Great pictures of the monuments. I always enjoyed visiting all the Cathedrals...the architecture and history is amazing. Again, enjoy reading your journals...keep them coming. I recorded the Spurs game for you when you get back home because I know how much of a fan you are. Don't pay attention to Jess' comments about the Sopranos Finale...it wasn't the restaurant explosion that killed everyone, it was only Tony's Escalade that exploded...
21st June 2007

WHAT UP ED!?
MAN, SOUNDS LIKE U ARE HAVING A BLAST OUT THERE. IT'S GOOD TO SEE U LIVING IT UP WITH THE EUROS. THE CAN CUN BACHELOR PARTY WAS OFF THE HOOK WE HAD A GREAT TIME, BUT WE WERE SURROUNDED BY A BUNCH OF EUROPEANS WITH SPEEDOS. WHAT IS UP WITH THAT? THEY SAY THAT WE LOOK FUNNY TO THEM BECAUSE WE WEAR SHORTS INSTEAD OF SPEEDOS? I THINK THE JOKE IS ON THEM. ANYHOW, GLAD TO HEAR U ARE WELL AND FINALLY TAN LIKE THE MAN, FEELS GOOD HUH! TAKE CARE BIG DOG, HAVE A GOOD ONE....PS WE MISS U AT THE POKER GAME
22nd June 2007

hola beach bum
Ed, Don't believe a word Dave has to say. He's obviously still drunk with excitement over the Spurs victory and the case of Corona he won off me. But there's always next year for Lebron and the Con. As for your travels, I continue to marvel at your ability to make friends at every turn, especially female friends! We, too, are living vicariously through your travels. One of the things I'm going to do before I shed this mortal coil is see a big time soccer match in Europe. If you don't get it done this time it will give us a good reason to go back. The Astros still suck and the Sopranos finale did too. Karla and I were driving the other day and she just blurted out "God I miss Ed". We can't wait to see you again. Make the most of every moment and keep track of your memories. Someday soon you'll be a better storyteller than that bartender in at the hostel in Mallorca. Heck, I'm betting you already are.
22nd June 2007

yeah... older, scotish, women.... europe is beating your values down!! keep it up buddy!
25th June 2007

needed a vacation?
You needed a vacation from all of the sights????!!!! What do you think you're doing everyday over there? My advice is to move on quicker. There's lots to see! What I thought was weird about the Sopranos finale is that I thought they never hit the family! Oh well I guess that's why they call it a finale. Have fun with Robert, and be careful. For the life of me, I can't figure out why you're going there. Nonetheless, enjoy it and celebrate you're 25th with a bang. It's all downhill from there. Love ya.
27th June 2007

Que paso primo
8 days in Mallorca??!! That Allie must have been some lady, huh? Haha. Glad you are having a good time. 'stros keep sucking it up, still 10 under .500. KG wants to leave the wolves, trying to work out a trade with the Lakers or Suns. The NBA draft is tomorrow - Oden and Durant (#1 and #2). Yao is going to marry some 6'3 chick from China - she is hot! Sopranos ending ruled! But I dont know why everyone is saying that all of them got whacked, they all lived happily ever after or did they not?? Well enjoy where your travels take you and take care!!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb