Balearic beats, sundaes & smoothies


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Ibiza
September 6th 2007
Published: September 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

July 13-17th- My big Ibiza holiday of the year finally arrived. I had such an amazing time that I've found it hard to write about and add to the blog because words and photos, which I've already shared with most people, will not do the experience justice. But I'll try for anyone interested. Ibiza is an island east of Spain and forms part of the Balearic Islands. David and I traveled with six others from London. There was an oil spill so we were not able to go into the sea but after a few sangrias on the beach we went to the water slides. It was a pretty exhausting lead up for Manumission, a party at Privilege. Although because it is so spectacular, being the biggest club in the world and all, I was hit with an adrenaline rush the minute we walked in. Anything really does go here! At one point in the night when I came out of the toilet I found a DJ in the bathroom supplying tunes for the performance on the stage above us. Even if dance music is not your scene it is a club to check out.

The next afternoon I went
Potters FieldPotters FieldPotters Field

A rare nice weekend
to Ibiza's old city. We arrived around siesta time so the stores and cafes were closed. We probably were in need of a siesta ourselves as we had to sit down after not much walking. We had a quiet evening in order to recover from the previous nights' exploits. The second and last club for David and I was Space, a club that opens at 9AM. We didn't get there until after 4 in the PM but there was enough time to be out in the sunny terrace. Unfortunately the music wasn't good until the evening when Too Many DJs really lifted up my spirits with Rebellion (Lies).

The next night after a nice meal and plentiful jugs of sangrias we watched the sun set in San Antonio. It was one of the best sun sets I've seen and we weren't far from Cafe del Mar, the real Cafe del Mar! It was truly a nice way to end the holiday. David was then off for a week and a half to New Zealand for his Dad's birthday and to meet his new nephew (who's SO gorgeous!). Unfortunately he didn't bring him back with him.

July 29th- At the end of the month my dream festival came true at the Ben & Jerry's Sundae Festival. For £12 you've got a nice day in the park, bands, and all you can ice cream. I went with Julia and ended up finishing off 13 scoops each! Not surprisingly I got quite ill and couldn't even wait for the Proclaimers. But how can you not try every flavour 😊 The weekend after David and I went to the healthier and more sensible Innocent Smoothie, a brand of fruit juices and smoothies. Before I knew it, it was already August Bank Holiday weekend for which I traveled to Riga, Latvia. More to come about that and my return to Edmonton.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Dress up partyDress up party
Dress up party

'One Pound Bag' runs into the Sheriff


Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb