Some more birds around Tarifa


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Tarifa
December 5th 2023
Published: January 4th 2024
Edit Blog Post

I spent about ten days in Tarifa. This time using the hostel as a base I did loads of day trips around the area. Late November/early December is not the best time for birds here, but there was loads of interest for me. It was lovely chatting to fellow travellers in the evenings.

Finally getting around to uploading a few more of the bird photos. It seemed at one stage I was getting a lifer a day. Often when I least expected it. Still loads more species I didn't get.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Mediterranean gull.Mediterranean gull.
Mediterranean gull.

Seen from the ferry back to Algeciras. The first time I've managed to find one myself.
Black stork. Black stork.
Black stork.

Flying over Almodóvar Resovoir. I was watching about twenty vultures soaring around when I saw this bird on its own. Lucky I checked it. A lifer.
Zitting cisticola doing the splits.Zitting cisticola doing the splits.
Zitting cisticola doing the splits.

They are now among my favourite birds.
Booted eagle. Booted eagle.
Booted eagle.

"landing lights" visible.
Booted eagle. Booted eagle.
Booted eagle.

The same bird from below.
Praying Mantis.Praying Mantis.
Praying Mantis.

Seen at CIMES bird observatory.
Spanish sparrowsSpanish sparrows
Spanish sparrows

Not a great view, but I'm pretty sure that's a male Spanish sparrow, top left.
Black winged kite and kestrel. La Janda.Black winged kite and kestrel. La Janda.
Black winged kite and kestrel. La Janda.

The kestrel was not happy happy that the kite wanted to perch on this pylon. I was treated to five minute dog fight.
House Sparrow. House Sparrow.
House Sparrow.

Still common at home. But always worth admiring.
Black redstart. Promenade Tarifa.Black redstart. Promenade Tarifa.
Black redstart. Promenade Tarifa.

Always enjoy seeing redstarts. Don't get them at home.
Sparrowhawk.Sparrowhawk.
Sparrowhawk.

On the way to Cadiz I stopped for lunch at my now usual spot at La Janda. As I enjoyed my snack I spotted a hawk land in the bush right by me. Amazingly it either didn't see me or wasn't worried. I managed to slowly get my camera out. Then it decided it was time to go hunting.


Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb