Sevilla: Day 3


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville » Triana
February 2nd 2013
Published: February 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone!

My group of girls here and I have just been exploring Sevilla, it's a beautiful city! There are so many amazing plazas, cafes, and shopping here. We had our orientation at the University of Sevilla yesterday, and I start class on Monday. The first week of classes is just to go to a bunch of different classes that you're interested in to narrow it down to 4 or 5 that you want to take. We officially register for classes in 2 weeks. I will be taking 4 classes in Spanish to complete my major and then a photography class in English. I'm pretty nervous about school, it sounds pretty intimidating but I think being in spanish classes will help improve my communication with spaniards here. All of my classes are at the international school at the university, so I'll be taking my classes with only international students, which I think will be good.

We went out to the bars and clubs last night, first time out in Sevilla! It was a lot of fun, there's a street along the river that is really popular for college students. I ran into a guy I went to high school with, which was CRAZY! What a small world!

Today we walked around La Plaza de Espana. It's the most beautiful place in the world! I love Sevilla. It's such a cool place. I'm excited to start traveling and exploring more places in Spain and outside of it.

I'll be posting more pictures in a bit, I'm just easing into life here and then I'll start taking more pictures.

The homestay is rough, It's hard to connect with the family and I'm not really enjoying it. They're very nice but the food isn't very good and it's very awkard. I'm hoping it gets better, but so far I'm not loving it. I have a much better time when I meet up with my friends in the city, which we've been doing a lot of.

We're going to get tapas y vino tonight and just chill and walk around. It's still pretty chilly here too, I didn't bring enough warm clothes, but hopefully it warms up fast!

I'm getting homesick for everyone, the next two weeks are going to be the hardest. I hope everything gets easier after that. I'm giving my self those two weeks as a grace period and then I need to crack down on my spanish and challenge myself.

Don't forget to kik me! (hbate)



Love,

Haley

Advertisement



3rd February 2013

Hang in there
Haley, I am glad you are loving Sevilla and it sounds like you have a wonderful group of new friends. I am sorry the home stay is so difficult. Just give it some time. Maybe it will get better. It is nice that you have you roommate, so you're not all alone. Love you, Amy

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb