Another Drink...Another Tapa


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
July 6th 2014
Published: July 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It seems appropriate that in this juncture of my blog, there be some mention of food. Four days in and nothing...what's happened to me?!

My favorite part about Granada thus far is the free tapas most places as long as you order a drink. I'm starting to learn that I can save money on dinner each night by ordering two glasses of wine and typically I'm content with that and my two free tapas. Sometimes I'll order a dessert too--I'm on vacation!

Last night with my first glass of wine I was served fried sardines on a bed of shredded cabbage with fried garlic and a cup of gazpacho. The gazpacho was served in a cocktail glass without a spoon and after a few moments of staring at it and simultaneously looking around to see if others had been served the same thing, I turned to an older gentleman that sat next to me at the bar. "Excuse me," I said to him in Spanish. "What is this?" He smiled at me showing that he only had four teeth and he replied enthusiastically, "gazpacho!" Then he motioned to me that I am supposed to drink it. So I shot
Making due with what you haveMaking due with what you haveMaking due with what you have

I bought some bread! Without an oven & with a tiny kitchenette, this is how I toast my crostinis
it back. It was equally delicious and refreshing. When all was consumed, I ordered a second glass of wine and this time was served what seemed to be pumpkin croquettes. As if I hadn't indulged enough, I stopped off at a different restaurant on my walk home for another glass and a cup of orange-infused rice pudding. Don't judge me.

Today is Sunday and most places are closed for business. Families eat together at home and the streets appear to be a bit quieter. As I strolled along this afternoon, I stumbled upon a tiny market that sells cheese, wine, charcuterie, dried fruits and nuts, and loose leaf teas. Not only was I delighted to find it, but even more so to find that it was open! The Argentinean gentleman that owns the shop was kind and extremely helpful. He let me sample a few different varieties of olives and helped me pick out some cheese that was to my liking (But who am I kidding? What cheese isn't to my liking?!) 36 Euros later, I left with a bag full of meats, cheese, sardines, wine and Spanish almond galletas. I've included a photo above--Lili, this is mainly for
imageimageimage

Voila!
you 😉 Apparently there is also a fantastic bakery across the street where I will definitely be stopping by tomorrow!

Advertisement



15th July 2014

Free food
Sounds like you are doing a great job managing your money. Maybe you'll be able to travel longer.

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb