Spanish pick up lines


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
June 20th 2012
Published: June 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So two nights ago, Julia and I are sitting on the terrace after dinner reading and talking about getting drinks before we go to the club tonight. I mentioned a chupitería which is a bar dedicated to shots and we were talking about getting people to go etc etc. Our host mom was sitting on the other side of the terrace and left to go get something. Next thing I know shes knocking me over the head with a bottle and she has three shot glasses in her hand!! Our 63 year old host mom gave us/ took a shot with us! By far one of the funniest things she has done yet. Then yesterday I walk into the kitchen for lunch, and mind you I have never heard her speak a word of english, and she goes “hello, how are you?” In a borderline german sounding accent and then I said good, you and she goes “Im fine thank you.” I tried to ask her another question but all she said was thank you so clearly this little conversation was rehearsed. Then she kept saying it over and over in this little mocking voice and I said ay dios mio and she goes “oh. My . gosh” but it really sounded like oh me goosh. It was hilarious.

Yesterday when I came home from school there was bread everywhere. On the entry table, every surface of the kitchen, the dining room table, all cut up in little pieces, and it took me a sec to realize she was making picotoastas (croutons) which she later informed me took an entire bottle of olive oil. She came home from the store with two weeks worth of groceries, and would you like to guess how many bottles of olive oil she had? FIFTEEN!!!!!! That is insane.

Now I would like to talk about the week I have had. It has been slightly cooler in the afternoon so I have worn my hair down a couple of days to class, and I have heard the greatest pick up lines ever. It has absolutely nothing to do with what I wear, how I look etc, it is soley my blonde hair. So here you go. First off we have “Bombon” which literally means bombon- like the little french pastries you eat? Marie told us it means that you look so sweet they just want a piece of you. Second we have rubia peligrosa- danergerous blonde. How in the world that makes any sense at all I have no idea, but it’s “supposed to be” flattering- I don’t buy it. The men here also tend to enjoy making animal noises, such as Meow, purring like a cat, or my personal favorite, bahing like a freaking goat. I would really love to know if bah-ing at a woman has ever gotten a positive reaction… ever. I have already told you about the oro liquido incident. And now, for my personal favorite. Está como queso. You are like cheese. Seriously? 1. I hate cheese so anyone looking to win me over has already lost. 2. How the hell is that a compliment? Marie said it’s because “the best cheeses are expensive and hard to find” blah blah, but once again I do not buy it. Spaniards are full of excuses.

We went to karaoke last night which was just great, I sang Oops I did it again in honor of my fond memories of karaoke on Thursday nights in boulder with Erin. Tonight we are going to Granada 10 which is a discoteca that is a little higher end and requires a little more dressing up but who doesn’t like dressing up every now and then?

Oh and another thing. Having been a lifeguard I know that many people think that some of the rules you enforce are complete BS, but I have finally encountered one I actually think is. Here I am enjoying a nice little dip in the icey pool on an extremely hot and humid day yesterday and I decided to take my hair out of the pony tail holder. It took the lifeguard all of 10 seconds ( I was the only person in the pool) to tell me that hair longer than shoulder length has to be in a pony tail at all times in the water. How in the world that makes any sense is beyond me. So I guess this is payback for all the rules I enforced as a lifeguard that people didn’t find realistic.



That’s all for now!

Miss you all!

Advertisement



22nd June 2012

WOW!! I love your blogs my mom and I can't stop smiling. Dios te bendiga.
22nd June 2012

Ahhh gracias! como estaías?
22nd June 2012

woops! * estáis
23rd June 2012

Estoy bien, y tu? Me da mucho gusto que te estes divirtiendo y que compartas tus aventuras con nosotros.
24th June 2012

Estoy bien pero cansado también porque fuimos a la fiesta de agua anoche y nunca dormir!!

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb