Lazy days of Semana Santa


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
April 4th 2012
Published: April 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have had probably the laziest week of my life. It's spring break for me and I have done next to nothing the whole time. I had planned on seeing the processions for Semana Santa, but it's been raining all week, and the processions didn't happen. I did try to go out and see one on Monday, but it started raining and I ended up standing outside the church for 45 minutes. A lot of other people were waiting around to see if the rain would stop and the floats could be brought out. They don't bring them out in the rain because the images are very old, usually made of wood, and very valuable. I saw on TV that one went out last night, but it started raining and they put a tarp over the whole thing and got it back to its church as fast as possible. It's too bad this was such a crappy week. No rain basically the whole time I'm here, and it decides to let it all loose this important week. A lot of people are pretty upset about it. The processions are extremely important to them, and I've seen several tears.

So what have I been doing without the processions? Watching movies. I tried to do some homework, but didn't feel like it so I'll just get some done on the plane to London. I could barely even make myself get up and write this blog, but I feel like I at least owe you all an update before I leave the country. I'm headed to London tomorrow morning bright and early. I'm getting more and more excited about this trip because even though I won't be able to do and see everything I'd like, it's still London. One thing I'm very bummed about is that I can't take a tour of Buckingham Palace. The Queen lives there, so they only allow tours for two weeks in the summer when she's at another palace. We'll be doing a lot of walking so I'm bringing my tennis shoes. No cute, stylish clothes to look like a European for me; I'm going for comfort. See you all when I get back!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0385s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb