Fin de Examenes Primeros


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
September 11th 2008
Published: September 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After My Evening ClassAfter My Evening ClassAfter My Evening Class

Calle Reyes Catolicos (Catholic Kings Street)
Hola!

So, for the past two days the whole school has been finishing up our orientation, and taking placement exams. Yesterday we took a grammar test and later an essay test, which I both felt went fine. Today we did the oral portion, which involved going and chatting with a teacher for a little while, so she can get a feel for your abilities. She told me that my writing was very good, and I think I did fine when talking to her...the convo went pretty smoothly.

Tomorrow morning the whole IES group is headed to Sevilla for un excursion, and then Monday is the start of our classes. I am told that my Lorca literature class is the hardest class that IES has to offer...yikes!

Other than that, I've just been making new friends, and exploring the city even more. Yesterday our class visited the U. of Granada buildings, which are very beautiful, and the public library, which is enormous and extremely odd--I will go back and take pictures for everyone, it's tough to explain.

One funny thing that I've noticed is that Spaniards can't tell the difference between American/British/German accents. Strange...but I guess they all sound the same when speaking elementary Spanish.

Yesterday, after class, our teacher (her name is Carmen), upon the insistence of two boys in the class, invited part of the class for un botellon. **By the way, I may not have mentioned the gender ratio before, but there are 10 boys in the program, and 70 girls, or something like that. Just a tidbit.** Anyways, un botellon yet another traditional Spanish way of relaxing...it literally just means to take beer out into the street and drink with your friends, and relax. So she took us to a park, Campo Principe, which is virtually 1/2 a block from my homestay, and we each had a beer and sat in the park and chilled. How strange is that!? But very fun.

Other than that, I am just looking forward to Sevilla (and also Ronda). I will put up more pictures when I can!

Love, Amy


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb