Campeones!!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
June 30th 2008
Published: June 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

en the calle after the win!en the calle after the win!en the calle after the win!

Greg and MaKenzie, on our way to the fountain!
Spain is the champion of EUROPE!! YEAH! Last night, Spain beat Germany 1-0 in the finals! This is the first time in 44 years and only the second time ever! I have never seen anything like what I saw last night...it was just LOCURA!!! (madness) anyway, we had lots of fun celebrating...the game itself was actually not terribly exciting. Torres, #9, scored in the 30th minute and that was the only goal of the game. He is a very young player and they are calling him " El nino de oro" or boy of gold. Its rather fitting since he scored such a historic point! After the game, everyone flooded the streets. About 10 police cars were lined up, at hand in case things got too crazy. Well, their definition of crazy is a little different then ours. The fireworks going off in the middle of crowds didn't get their attention. Nor did the people climbing in the fountain of one of the main plazas. Or the water being thrown from balconies surrounding it. OR just the sheer number of people! I would say thousands of people were crowded around the city in various plazas, just singing, celebrating and basically rioting.
Americanas en roja..Americanas en roja..Americanas en roja..

friends from school
:-) it was fun! I will post pictures and try and post the video I took!! oh, and I don't actually remember who I talked to last night...I was out of it (asleep..) I had to get up for class this morning, so thanks Mom! jaja just kidding, I didn't mind at all only wish I had been a bit more coherent! LOVE YOU ALL AND MISS YOU! VIVA ESPANA!!!

Canciones:
YouTube these and you may find video and-or music!
1. A Por Ellos, oe! A Por Ellos, oe.
2. Campeones, campeones, ole ole ole!
3. also, if you're bored or procrasinating try finding "GranadaHoy"...my friend found some video of around the city!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

torre de rojo y amarillotorre de rojo y amarillo
torre de rojo y amarillo

red and yellow everywhere!
la Fuentela Fuente
la Fuente

me compared to the crowd
on the fountainon the fountain
on the fountain

a friend from the Winona crowd...pulled up on the fountain


1st July 2008

Viva Espana!! I get it now!
We've been thinking about you and missing you A LOT, Kelsey!! But it looks like you are having an historic time! Love you, mucho!!
1st July 2008

Viva Espana!!
Hey there, what a blast! I noticed you were sleepy when we called you! We thought you would still be up in the Locura!!! Wow what a great experience, I take it you were continuing to use your god given brain and remained safe during the festivities.... Love you Sweetie, missing you as we are here with family in the beautiful majestic redwoods... mom
3rd July 2008

ahhhh! so much red!
it sounds like you're having the time of your life! =D love you!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb