Semana Dos; Blog Tres- 382 Palabras


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Granada
June 7th 2019
Published: June 7th 2019
Edit Blog Post


Getting late night milkshakes at a café. I was so surprised how many families we saw on the way there!
Polaroid (individual):The first time that I went for ice cream after 10pm, I was surprised to see so many families playing at parks. Many young children were eating with their parents or running around on the playground. This increased my awareness described under CQ strategy because it made me realize that one of my cultural understandings was that it was dangerous for children to be out that late. I had to consider why I felt uncomfortable and analyze the extent that my own culture influenced those emotions (Livermore, 2015).



Postcard (relational): Relationally, the social norm of late nights here changes the way in which I am able to interact with my host. According to Spain Culture Smart, it is common for people to stay up well past midnight and meet outside the home to socialize long after dinner (Aguado, 2016). While in American culture, we would typically bond over meals throughout the day, here we mainly talk to our host and bond over our days later at night after dinner while we watch a TV show and talk. While in American the day usually comes to a close after dinner, social interaction has just begun here. This at first was difficult because I had to adjust my time schedule and take advantage of the siesta time so that I was able to engage in conversation late at night.



Billboard (social): Socially, the late nights here made me consider economic classes in Spain. There were many people out late at night, and from what I was able to observe many of them appear to be well off. Families who spent their times at the parks at night were dressed in nice clothes, many of the women carrying expensive bags. The restaurants that were full of people had expensive menus, and many of the tables appeared to have as many as five or six drinks on them. Spain ascribes to a “being” society, a concept discussed in the reading, as they put greater value on enjoying the quality of life along a journey rather than the meeting of specific goals in the most efficient way possible (Livermore, 2015). Despite this social implication, it is important to realize that those in higher social class are more able to experience night life, and thus participate more fully in the being society.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb