290km Sept. 29th


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Cabo de Gata-Níjar Natural Park
September 30th 2009
Published: September 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We had a rough start yesterday. Ohmy goodness, when the agency handed the bikes over, the parking lights were lights must have been left on. My bike was dead! So we called Eva and she tried to fix it, but Ryan of course came through and was the hero! haha so we had quite a late start. we ended up leaving la Herradura after noon, So we took a ´short´cut that was off the map - hahah so fun - of course we got lost. We were just scratched the surface of the mountains. It was beautiful, just unbelievable roads. We were rideing through storm clouds at one point, but could see the sun below us over a little town.
We finally found our route and got onto the road where we were suppose to be and there was contruction. so we took another detour. - Literally off roading it. I thought I was going to dump the bike for sure! there was so much mud. I thank God that Ryan took me dirt-biking so much; or I would have let her go. And we took a few wrong turns and I think we ended up in someones orchard but I can´t say for sure. 😉 haha.
When we found our way back onto an actual road we just hoped that we were going the right way, because of all the construction there was no road signs, and no people for hours. - they were building the highway, super new
We some how managed to get off course one more time because of all the round abouts and such, so we stopped at a little town for lunch/ supper.
The speed signs have quite a range from 30-120; but we managed to get pulled over by the Policia because I had stopped in an awkward spot on the road, they told us to get off the road. Ryan was a little worried I think 😉
We then went to the very tip of the southern most part of spain, where there is a natural park, before heading north again toward las Negras.
we found our hotel, Cal Chica, just before 9pm. It felt so good to have a hot shower.; and another fantastic hotel. I was worried that the hotels would be more like hostels but I´ve been impressed everytime.
So today we head North, through Mountains.

Ryan & Rebecca


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb