Seafood and more seafood


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Cádiz
February 17th 2012
Published: February 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I've been trying to explore Cadiz more in my time off, and get to know the numerous narrow streets and districts in the old town. It's starting to pay off! I found an antiques market on Sunday morning opposite Parques Genoves, that sold all sorts of odds and ends from old photos, jewellery, military badges, old cameras and books; to kids toys, playstation 2 games, chargers for all sorts of devices and a lot of tat!! I had a good rummage and came away with a charger for my old phone for e1.50. For lunch I went to the famous Freiduria at the Plaza de los Flores for a cucurucho de pescado frito; random fried seafood in a paper cone. Mine contained a whole fried prawn, a huevo (still not sure what it is exactly), chocos, a small whole octopus/squid, and other unknown items. Mostly delicious!

That evening I went to La Caleta with Danni to watch the sunset. Cadiz is such a dreamy relaxed city, you can have a perfect day here. The sunset was beautiful, and I watched it feeling thoroughly peaceful at home. We're going to make it a regular activity.

Week 5 was a tedious never-ending week and I was really de-motivated. Knowing it was a 6-day week didn't help!! I've started lying in late, the cold being another reason not to get up! I had a technological disaster when my netbook charger suddenly stopped working - I only got it 3/4 months ago!! I couldn't get a universal charger that fitted it properly so got the best fit I could find which took a big dent out of my week's budget. Just helped set the mood for the week!

The weekend was very sociable, after post-work Friday tapas, we went to Keara's house for a party, and after work in Puerto on Sat, I also went out for tapas with the Puerto teachers. We ordered a plate of fried cheese each which proved to be a bit too much!! That night I cooked for Danni, Jennifer and Steve as we made our plans for going away the followin weekend.

Sunday again was a fantastically lazy day!! After lying in, reading and chatting with the housemates, it was 13:15 when I was ready to embrace the day! I wandered around to the antiques market for a peruse, and then sought shelter from the bracing wind in Plaza de Minas. The sea-urchin festival had sprung up again with Carnaval less than a week away, and at the corners of the Plaza were men selling all sorts of seafood to the people milling around in the sun. I tried a half a sea-urchin, it tasted like the sea but not as salty, but I wasn't tempted to but a plate of them! I was also compelled to try an oyster by the vendors, two new culinary experiences! I found a patch of sun to sit in and people watch with a book ad a beer in my hand. Later I met up with Jennifer and Laura (Puerto teacher) in a Moroccan tea-room for some chocolate orange tea, yum yum.

Week 6 flew by as I now had something to look forward to at the weekend! I was suprised by a package from Doug which happened to arrive on Valentine's Day - a box of Barry's tea!! I was a very happy girl!! I didn't see Susannah at all this week as she has just started a new job which is taking her all over Andalucia. Marion and I watched the singing groups competing on TV in the run-up to Carnaval, they were very entertaining I just wished I could understand them!! Carnaval officially started on Thursday 16th, but the party really started on the Friday for the next nine days! We were given some money from the company for drinks, so tapas and drinks only cost us e3 each! Danni and I went down to the hostal where she used to work in, for its birthday party. There were loads of people and it was buzzing. There was an excellent jamming session in one of the rooms; three guitars, a harmonica, a fiddle, and a Spanish passion for music and singing! Danni, Steve, friend of theirs called Aaron and I went to the plaza outside the Gran Teatro Falla, where the finals of the competitions had just finished. People from all over Spain come to Cadiz for Carnaval and we got chatting with some boys from Barcelona. We couldn't stay out all night - road tripping the next day!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

seafood for saleseafood for sale
seafood for sale

Plaza de Minas


Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb