Hot and cold - the highs and lows of settling in


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Cádiz
February 3rd 2012
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I've settled into some sort of a routine here; after a lazy start due to my inability to get out of bed in the mornings, go for a walk around the coastline (which I've even expanded into a jog at times), return for some faffing about before getting stuck into lesson plans.

The third week for me was a real test. I was so glad to be able to have a base here, and have more people to converse with, but also found it very lonely at times this week as I found I had more time away from teaching but not a lot to do. So I embarked on a mission to find a gym or dance class in the mornings. Turns out there isn't a lot of choice so I may take up pilates some morning one of these days!!

I also bought myself a geranium plant at the market (an excuse to get out and talk to people in my rubbish Spanish) as my room seems quite bare at the moment. I've also taken to bluetacking posters, sticky notes and maps on the wall around my desk to make the room more "mine".

The flat has been working out well. Marion went to Cordoba to see her boyfriend, and then they will both travel to Berlin for the weekend. I've been chatting a lot with Susannah who is also going to take my Spanish education in hand. Hopefully I'll have an intercambio starting up soon aswell. There's a small blackboard in the kitchen where Susannah gives me impromptu lessons after work or in the morning when I see her. Jorge is very quiet and doesn't speak any English, so I'm going to work hard on my Spanish to be able to have a conversation!! Their daughter Cloe is adorable, and is slowly geting used to me being around.

It got cold at the end of the third week, it was even wet on Friday! Danni and Steve had me over for dinner, and the next morning was my first full morning working in El Puerto. It was fine although by the time I got back to Cadiz and had got all my grocery shopping our of the way it was 5pm!! Luckily it's only every two weeks. The sun came back on Sunday. Jennifer, Danni, Steve and myself met on the Santa Maria beach for a picnic lunch. Cadiz has about four beaches. La Caleta; the smallest at the top of the peninsula: Playa de Santa Maria del Mar; on the edge of the old town: Playa Victoria; which continues from the Santa Maria beach the whole stretch of the new town, is 2km long and very clean: and the Cortadura beach begins where the Playa Victoria ends and isn't built up at all. It was perfect chill out weather - blue skies and a very warm beaming sun. So warm we started to burn. In January. I love Cadiz!!

We made plans for further travel this month, so the time will really start to fly by. Danni cooked us all the pig's cheek stew - carillada - for dinner which was delicious and we relived our teenage youth listening to cheesy boyband music from the 90's.

The fourth week was a lot more positive than the previous week. I think having something definate to look forward to at the weekend definately helped. I've managed to keep us my walks/bursts of jogging this week which I'm sure will start to make a difference soon. Especially since I only have the time for three meals a day. I'm still getting used to eating dinner so late, as it's usually two hours before bedtime. I'm still full in the morning when I get up but I have to eat breakfast so it's a lot smaller than at home.

Teaching has been fine, most of my students are lovely (adults). The teens can be fine when they want, and I'm still working on growing the extra pairs of eyes needed for teaching the 6-year-olds!!

The Siberian cold made itself felt midway through the week. All very well and good when you can feel the sunshine out and about during the day, but not so good when you spend time inside buildings with no central heating and tiled floors, which were made to keep heat out!! The school has been absolutely freezing, and the house is not much better. Susannah has supplied me with extra bedding and a two bar heater, so now I sleep under two quilts and a heavy blanket!! The only trouble is getting out of bed in the morning under the sheer amount of warm layers!! We got paid on Friday, and Danni and I got lunch at the baguette shop across from the school to celebrate. It was a beast - potatoe omelette, chicken fillets, lettuce and mayo in a massive fresh bread roll. It was an early enough night as I had an early start for my day-trip to Seville with Jennifer the next day!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0801s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb