Alba turns Twenty!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Cádiz
October 26th 2011
Published: October 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Alba turns Twenty! 24 secs
Kate and I after our first Half MarathonKate and I after our first Half MarathonKate and I after our first Half Marathon

Folly Beach in the rain...there's actually nothing better!
Good morning, 😊



Whelp, it is finally raining. For the first time since our first day in Cádiz we have actually seen clouds, and on top of that, these clouds have brought rain! Maybe now we will get some green going on in these parts. The only bad part is that I really can’t leave the house with my computer. I usually put my raincoat over my backpack instead of over my body when I have my computer because my computer is quite honestly more valuable than whatever I am wearing that day. However, it doesn’t just mist, spritz or rain here, it pours. This morning I was very sad when I got up for my run and looked up at the skylight and saw/heard the pouring rain. Pepa and Selu were just getting up as well, “No puede, duerme un poquito más.” Meaning, “You can’t, sleep a little more.” She knew I was looking up to see if I could go for a run.

I’ve had a harder time lately getting up and going for my runs. I get to go for them, but I don’t get up as early as I would like, still earlier
Alba's BirthdayAlba's BirthdayAlba's Birthday

All she REALLY wanted for her birthday was a new camera, and she got one!
than my family usually, but instead of trying to leave the house by 7 its usually between 8:30 and 9, which isn’t awful, but I would prefer running earlier. I know, then I should just get up with my alarm! But sometimes it’s so hard. I don’t have class Friday through Monday so I don’t usually have to be anywhere in the mornings so I don’t have any motivation to get up so early. Plus, my legs have been pretty sore lately, my lower calves especially. Yesterday I tried to mix it up a bit and run along the beach barefoot. I hadn’t done it before and I had wanted to do it pretty much ever since I got here. The only problem is that I don’t live close enough to the beach to run there barefoot (I would NOT run through the streets of Cádiz barefoot…ever.) so you have to run there in your shoes and then leave your shoes while you run on the beach. I decided that instead of taking my nice running shoes, I would take my old crappy Toms and leave them on a rock. No one touched them (probably because they were old and
Alba and MariAlba and MariAlba and Mari

Mari is Alba's aunt, Pepa's sister. Pepa says a lot of People get her and Mari confused.
crappy) but I was still glad I opted for the Toms.

It was a really great run. My legs felt so much better running along the beach barefoot than running along the beach with shoes. Plus, the tide was a bit lower than it had been since we got back from Paris so there was more flat surface to run on. As I mentioned a few blogs ago, Evan said I should consider running a marathon while I’m in Europe, and, as I mentioned a few blogs ago, I’m in no hurry. Since graduating high school running has just been for the enjoyment of running and for exercise. My legs still get sore and I still get pains, but I don’t run nearly as hard as I used to. The only races I have done have been ones that my friends have invited me to do because they just wanted someone to run with. Half marathons are pretty fun, I must say. Kate and I did one in Folly Beach, SC just outside of Charleston and it was probably the most fun I've ever had running. It was pouring rain actually, and we didn’t have any expectations, we just ran. Then again, how many expectations can you have when you’ve only been training for 3 weeks? The plan was that we were going to find road races in really pretty places during our spring semester last year and work our way up to a half marathon in April or May. “I found a half marathon, Devin!”
“Oh really?”
“Yeah! It’s February 5th.”
“That’s in three weeks.”
“Yeah, but I think we’ll be fine.”
Fine we were. After that I did Cooper River Bridge Run with Kate and Leigh in April and then I ran a half marathon with (well, the same day as) my friend Shawn from home. She was just a few minutes ahead of me. 😊 Anyways, I like to run, but just for fun. However like I said, if anyone (cough, Conor, cough) wanted to come run a marathon with me here, I would start training. 😊

Yesterday the weather for my run was perfect; usually the weather here is perfect. The first few days after getting back from Paris I was pretty bummed. I was upset about losing my photos, sad I didn’t have a fellow Nebraskan anymore, and on top of that I
What a cute sweater!What a cute sweater!What a cute sweater!

I love Snoopy! I'm jealous, that is super cute!
had to go back to school. I was just in a funk, and really didn’t feel as if I could get out of it. Then, I don’t know what happened; I was walking home from school and saw a lady taking a picture of El Teatro de Falla (The Falla Theater). I looked up at the theater and I thought to myself, “I guess if I didn’t walk by it every day, I would think it was really interesting and pretty too.” Then I just started noticing little things about Cádiz that I really enjoy and that maybe it is starting to become more of my “home” here.

I woke up one morning and went for a run; the sun was shining, there was a nice breeze and I could just take time to look around and enjoy the morning and all of the sudden I noticed how pretty Cádiz is. I really think Cádiz just had to grow on me. Unlike the other API kids, when we first arrived in Cádiz I did not think it was the most beautiful place I had ever seen, but the longer I am here, the more l like it and appreciate it. I think it helps going away and then coming back. Leaving Lincoln had the same effect on me. I spent a lot of years waiting for college so I could get out. Only after I left Lincoln and starting living in Clemson did I realized how cool of a place Lincoln really is; I’ve honestly never come across a place like it. It’s just the right size and it has everything you need, maybe not everything you want, but that’s why God invented internet shopping and Omaha.

Things with the family have evened out as well. I think Pepa came on sort of strong in order to whip us into shape so we didn’t break her rules, but lately I think she has loosened up a bit and, while I still wouldn’t say I feel like a member of the family, I am more comfortable in the house, although I have not gone for a muffin again. 😊

Natalie and I even got invited to Alba’s 20th birthday party. Her birthday is actually the 24th, but that's a Monday (yucky.) so we celebrated on Friday. It was actually really fun! Natalie and I had gotten her small
Mother and DaughterMother and DaughterMother and Daughter

They are really a very sweet duo :)
gifts from Paris and Cádiz which she really liked, we got to meet a few of her friends, but we also got to meet her cousin, and her really cute son Jose. Abuela, Mari (Pepa’s sister), and Isabel (another API host mother and Pepa’s best friend) were also there. Birthday parties here work about the same as they do in the United States; everyone meets up, they open gifts, and have some cake, the only difference is the piñata, but the piñata is just for the kids, hence Jose got all of the piñata treats. Alba went out that night with her friends to celebrate, and stayed out until 9:30 in the morning. Now, they stay out way later here than we do in the States, but even she was giggling when she told us how late she stayed out.

The night before we attempted to go out for a late night, I however ended up staying home. Spain hamburgers just do not sit well with me. It felt like I had a boulder hanging out in my stomach, just awful. “Natalie, next time I say I want a hamburger just tell me ‘No you don’t, Devin,’ and keep
Isabel and AlbaIsabel and AlbaIsabel and Alba

Even with her eyes closed, Isabel is adorable, and this picture is still very sweet!
me away from them!” It’s very upsetting but sometimes I just want a good hamburger and every time I get one when we go out, I just don’t feel good afterwards, I think I’ve been spoiled on that Nebraska beef that my stomach will except nothing less. When we got home Pepa made me drink this stuff called “Sal de Fruta” (Fruit Salt), it was pretty much just 7Up/Sprite in powder form that you put in water and makes you burp. It helped a little, and I ended up passing out just about a half an hour after.
Natalie went out though; she stayed out till 3 am, impressive. Not nearly as impressive though as our friend Meghan, 7 am, it’s no 9:30, but she did pretty well. I honestly don’t know how they do it. Maybe it’s the siestas? I cannot stay up that late, by midnight I am just pooped. Perhaps one day I will drink a coffee at like 11pm and see if I can stay out a little later. The night Alba stayed out until 9:30 she didn’t even leave the house until 1:30am. Truly remarkable. Maybe she gives lessons. Haha!

Anyhoo, that’s about all you missed since I spent nearly a week trying to get Paris out to you guys. 😊
Talk to again, soon!
Love always,
Devin 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

I really love the boats around La CaletaI really love the boats around La Caleta
I really love the boats around La Caleta

Another thing I have come to appreciate more as the days go by.
View from the CastleView from the Castle
View from the Castle

I have meant to go to the castle by La Caleta to take photos,but my camera died the day I finally went!


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb